The Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) issues several alcoholic beverage related licenses, and permits, to qualified applicants. The TABC jurisdiction covers alcoholic beverages with over 5% alcohol content by weight. The TABC does not issue beer permits.
ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION LICENSES (LIQUOR-BY-THE-DRINK)
Liquor-By-the-Drink licenses (LBD) are available for qualified establishments such as restaurants, hotels and private clubs. Please see Liquor-By-the-Drink licenses.
Limited Service Licenses (LSL) for restaurants are available for qualified establishments with gross revenue from sale of prepared food is less than fifty percent (50%), but greater than fifteen percent (15%). Please see limited service restaurant requirements.
Server Permits are required for all liquor by the drink servers. Prospective servers please see Server Permits.
Special Occasion licenses may be issued to eligible bona fide charitable, non-profit or political organizations for 24 hour periods. An organization may apply for up to 12 events per calendar year. Server Permits are not required for the beverage server at a special occasion event. Please see Special Occasion License.
OFF-PREMISE CONSUMPTION LICENSES (RETAIL)
Retail liquor store license is for liquor stores selling liquor by the bottle to individuals for off-premise consumption. See how to obtain the Retail package store license.
Retail Employee permit (blue card) is required for individuals selling liquor in a TABC licensed retail liquor store. Please see Retail Employee permit.
Consumer Educational Seminars are permitted by the TABC and conducted by the designated retail establishment, or package store. An application requesting permission to conduct an educational seminar may be submitted by the retail establishment. See how to obtain a Consumer Education Seminar application.
Wholesale liquor license is for wholesalers distributing wine and liquor to TABC licensed Tennessee retail liquor stores, and TABC licensed Liquor-By-the-Drink establishments. Please see Wholesale License.
Wholesale Representative's permit (green card) is for a individual selling liquor for a wholesaler. Please see Wholesale Representative permit.
Wineries license is for wineries local to Tennessee, inside State borders. Please see Wineries license
Distillery license is for manufactures that produce products with more than 5% alcoholic content. Please see Distillery license.
Distiller representative's permit is for an individual sales person representing non-resident licensees, such as manufacturing facilities, distilleries and (non-resident) wineries. Please see Distiller Representative permit.
NON-RESIDENT SELLERS LICENSE
Non-resident sellers license is for wineries or distillers/manufactures inside or outside of Tennessee borders, shipping alcoholic products to Tennessee wholesalers. See Non-resident sellers license.
DIRECT SHIPPER LICENSE
Direct Shippers license allows a Tennessee or an out of state winery to ship their wines direct to Tennessee consumers. (Consumer must be 21 years of age or older.) See Direct Shipper license.
RESPONSIBLE VENDOR ACT
For information related to the Responsible Vendor Program, that is administrated by the TABC, see Responsible Vendor Act.
BEER BOARD CONTACT INFORMATION
The TABC does not issue beer permits. For beer permits, please contact your local Beer Board. See List of Tennessee Beer Boards.
NON-MANUFACTURING NON-RESIDENT LIQUOR SELLERS PERMIT
SATELLITE FACILITY PERMIT
This permit authorizes licensed wineries to establish up to two satellite facilities where, generally, they may sell their wine for on or off premise consumption. See Satellite Facility Permit
WINERY SELF-DISTRIBUTION PERMIT
Generally this permit authorizes certain licensed wineries who meet all necessary requirements to distribute their own wine to establishments that have a liquor-by-the-drink license that are within 100 miles of the winery. See Winery Self-Distribution Permit