Contact Us

For general inquiries, use the form below to send a message to the appropriate staff. You can also call the department at (615) 741-5158.

For media requests and communications-related inquiries, visit the Newsroom.

Fill out my online form.

Department Leadership

Contact information for department leaders is listed below. For a listing of all department staff, see the department directory.

Office Name Phone
Commissioner Candice McQueen (615) 741-5158
Deputy Commissioner Kathleen Airhart (615) 741-5158
Chief of Staff Hanseul Kang (615) 532-3313
State Board of Education Sara Heyburn, Executive Director (615) 741-2966
Achievement School District Chris Barbic, Superintendent (615) 741-5158
Data and Research   (615) 253-8854
Policy and Legislation Stephen M. Smith, Assistant Commissioner (615) 741-1111
Curriculum and Instruction Emily Freitag, Assistant Commissioner (615) 741-8837
Career and Technical Education Danielle Mezera, Assistant Commissioner (615) 253-2114
Information Technology   (615) 741-3261
Finance and Budget Chris Foley, Chief Financial Officer (615) 253-4252
Teachers and Leaders   (615) 253-8856
Special Populations Joey Hassell, Assistant Commissioner (615) 253-3167
State Operations Mike Herrmann, Executive Director (615) 741-8468
Legal Services Christy Ballard, General Counsel (615) 741-2921
Human Resources Vickie Hall, Director (615) 532-6176
First to the Top Sam Pearcy, Director (615) 532-0611
Communications Kelli Gauthier, Director (615).532-7817
School Nutrition Services Sarah White, Executive Director (615) 532-4715
Centers of Regional Excellence Ken Green, Chief District Support Officer (865) 228-9522
Call Center   (615) 741-5158

Find Us

710 James Robertson Parkway

Andrew Johnson Tower, 9th Floor

Nashville, TN 37243

View Larger Map
Last Update: February 11, 2015