Regional News

The staff of the Northwest Center of Regional Excellence is dedicated to providing support to districts that improve outcomes for students. This office is staffed with dedicated and highly qualified team members eager to deploy across the region.

Norma Gerrell serves as the executive director. Norma has nearly 25 years of teaching and administrative experience in Tennessee schools.  Prior to this role, she served as the Supervisor of Instruction and Federal Programs in Paris Special School District.

Gerrell holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in both music and elementary education from Union University. She earned a master's of education in administration from the University of Memphis and an Educational Specialists degree in Curriculum and Instruction plus a Doctorate of Education in Educational Leadership from Union University.

The regional office staff also includes the following support staff:

  • Math Coordinator
  • Data Analyst
  • Academic Consultant(s) focused on reading
  • Academic Consultant focused on intervention
  • Consolidated Monitoring Consultant
  • Consolidated Fiscal Consultant
  • School Nutrition Consultant
  • Career and Technical Education Consultant
  • Administrative Secretary

Regional Resources

The Northwest strategic plan is available for download here.

Northwest Districts

  • Benton County
  • Carroll County
  • Hollow Rock-Bruceton SSD
  • Huntington SSD
  • McKenzie SSD
  • South Carroll SSD
  • West Carroll SSD
  • Crockett County
  • Alamo City
  • Bells City
  • Dyer County
  • Dyersburg City
  • Gibson County SSD
  • Bradford SSD
  • Humboldt SSD
  • Milan SSD
  • Trenton SSD
  • Henry County
  • Paris SSD
  • Lake County
  • Obion County
  • Union City
  • Weakley County
Last Update: July 21, 2014