Skip to Content

Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities

Advisory Council for Children with Disabilities logo

Purpose - “The Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities (“Council”) shall advise the State on unmet needs, initiatives of the Council and consult with the Governor, the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education and the Assistant Commissioner of the Division of Special Populations, Tennessee Department of Education.”

Advisory Council By Laws Manualdownload pdf file

Council Goals for July 2013 - June 2014download pdf file

Annual Reports

Meeting Minutes

Tentative Schedule

2007-2008 School Year Report

2008-2009 School Year Report

2009-2010 School Year Report

2010-2011 School Year Report

2011-2012 School Year Report

April, 2013

July, 2013

October 2013

January 2014

April 14, 2014 @ Scarritt Bennett Conference Center
July 14, 2014 @ SBCC
October 13, 2014 @ SBCC

If you would like to view videos of recent Council meetings, please click on:

http://nowuseeit.state.tn.us/mediasite5/Catalog/pages/catalog.aspx?catalogId=02e2c293-c2b9-43d5-be39-49b3d8383e65

Note: All interested persons are invited to attend Advisory Council Meetings. During the meetings opportunities for public input are available. The time available is limited and will be scheduled on a first come/first serve basis. Please contact the Secretary of the Council at (615) 532-6310 or the Council Chair at cjcheshier@ortn.edu

Current Membership

Name / City of Residence E-mail Address Area of Representation
Cynthia Cheshier, Chair - Knoxville cjcheshier@ortn.edu Teachers
Chip Fair, Vice Chair- Manchester fairc@rcschools.net Individual with a disability
Paula Brownyard -Jackson pgbrwnyr@memphis.edu Institutions of Higher Education
Brian Brown- Lenoir City brianbrown@charter.net Parent of a child with a disability
Dawn Bradley - Lebanon bradleybd@wcschools.com Administrators of Programs for Children with Disabilities/ Parent of a Child with a disability
David Craig-
Columbia
dcraig@tkds.org Administrators of Programs for Children with Disabilities/ Parent of a Child with a disability
Katie Culberson-
Nashville
katieculberson@yahoo.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Kyle Hauth - Chattanooga khauth@orangegrove.org Vocational Organization concerned with the provisions of transition services
Alfred Hacker-
Athens
alfhacker@bellsouth.net Parent of a Child with a disability
Chantal Hess-Taylor - Cordova Tteachlaw@aol.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Mary Donnet Johnson - Knoxville formdj@earthlink.net Parent of a Child with a disability
Jeffrey Ker- Brentwood jeffrey.ker@hotmail.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Catherine Knowles - Nashville catherine.knowles@mnps.org McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act
Debra Lane-
Brighton
JDTDLane@aol.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Mary Meador- Nashville Mary.meador@tn.gov State Juvenile Agency/ Child Welfare Agency responsible for foster care
Anne Robertson- Nashville anne.robertson@tn.gov Other State Agencies involved with the delivery of related services (i.e. Vocational Rehab)
Hillary P. Simms hillarypsims@gmail.com Public Charter Schools
Sebrena St. John-
Jonesborough
stjohns@wcde.org Parent of a Child with a disability
Shannon Taylor-Henderson taylors@caywood.org Parent of a Child with a disability
Jim Topp - Collierville jamesetopp@me.com Individual with a disability/Parent of a Child with a disability
Jason Vance- Madisonville Vancej@loudoncounty.org State and Local Education Official
Darlene Walden - Denmark darwald@live.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Rhonda Whitt-
Nashville
rhonda.whitt@tn.gov State Adult Corrections Agency