Supervisor of the Year

Each year a public school supervisor earns the distinction as Tennessee Supervisor of the Year. This award is given for meritorious service in education and outstanding leadership achievement that leads to overall improvements in their school district.

Nominations are received from the Supervisors Study Council. Nominees must have a minimum of 8 years of professional experience in the Tennessee public schools and currently serve in a system-wide/district-level supervisory position.

The winner is honored during the annual Tennessee Educational Leadership Conference (LEAD) in Nashville.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient School System
1981-82 Kathleen Wright McNairy County
1982-83 Beecher Clapp Knoxville City
1983-84 Joe Minor Tennessee Department of Education
1984-85 Mary Hopkins Fayetteville City
1985-86 Betty Sparks Monroe County
1986-87 Thelma Seavers Milan Special
1987-88 Margaret Salsbury Murfreesboro City
1988-89 Dr. Hilda Nason Paris Special
1989-90 Dr. Jane Qualls Alcoa City
1990-91 Georgia Sullivan Williamson County
1991-92 Dr. Bruce Mays McNairy County
1991-92 Bobby Snider Henderson County
1993-94 Juanita Henson Lawrence County
1994-95 Dr. Christine Ejlali Washington County
1995-96 Debra Cline Sevier County
1996-97 Sue Boyer Knox County
1997-98 Minnie Miller Johnson County
1998-99 Thomas Parks Maury County
1999-00 Harriet Shelby Lauderdale County
2000-01 Judith Beaty Monroe County
2001-02 Eleanor Hayes Sevier County
2002-03 Susan Bunch Henderson County
2003-04 Paul Coggins Wayne County
2004-05 Dr. Shirley R. Ellis Carter County
2005-06 Charlotte Britton Hawkins County
2006-07 Nancy Wagner Kingsport City
2007-08 Glee Moore Sumner County
2008-09 Dr. David Timbs Johnson County
2009-10 Connie Campbell Jefferson County Schools
2010-11 Dianne Williams Cheatham County Schools
2011-12 B.J. Worthington Clarksville-Montogomery County Schools
2012-13 Bobby Cox Warren County Schools
2013-14 Marcia Melton Cannon County Schools
2014-15 Timothy Parrott Anderson County



Last Update: November 6, 2014