Skip to Content

General Radioactive Material License

Who Needs One?

Certain types of radioactive sources and devices containing radioactive material require the purchaser to have a general radioactive material license which is provided by the manufacturer.

What Information Must I Provide?

The privilege to possess material under the authority of a Tennessee General License is granted by reference in Tennessee's State Regulations for Protection Against Radiation; however, a Tennessee General Licensee is required to Register their General Licensed Device(s) within thirty (30) days of possession of the device. Information concerning General License transfers is also submitted to the Tennessee Division of Radiological Health by the General License device Manufacturer but, this does not relieve the General Licensee from the Registration requirements.

How Is The License Granted?

A General License is granted automatically and is subject to notification of the transfer of radioactive material to Tennessee by the licensed manufacturer/distributor of the device and/or source as well as Registration by the General Licensee. The information submitted is checked against the existing General License Files maintained by the Division. New General Licensees are; 1) entered in the computer, 2) a copy of the General Licensed Device Registration is returned to the General Licensee, and 3) an invoice for the license fee is generated.

What Fees Are Required?

An annual fee of $350 is required.

What Are My Rights And Responsibilities After The License Is Granted?

The General Licensee may receive the radioactive material which has been distributed under the terms of the General License. However, the licensee must comply with the requirements set forth in State Regulations for Protection Against Radiation and the terms specifically outlined in the information accompanying the radiation source or device. These requirements include, but are not limited to, following manufacturer's instructions relating to proper use, leak testing, shutter (if equipped) operation, maintenance, security, storage, and disposal of the device and/or source. If the possessor wishes to handle the device in a manner not authorized by the General License, he will need to apply for a Specific Radioactive Material License. A General License does not expire. The possessor can transfer the device and/or source to someone under the authority of a General License if the device and/or source remains in use at its original location. Otherwise the device and/or source must be transferred to someone with a Specific Radioactive Material License authorizing the possession of that particular source and/or device.

What Are The Division's Rights And Responsibilities After The License Is Granted?

The Division of Radiological Health is responsible for regulating sources of radiation in order to protect the health and welfare of the people and environment of the State of Tennessee.

The Division has the right to inspect licensed devices and/or sources as deemed necessary. Violators for noncompliance are subject to civil penalties  up to $5,000 per day per violation. In the event of a threat to public health and safety, the Division has the right to confiscate radiation sources.

Whom Do I Contact For Applications, Assistance And Other Sources Of Information?

Assistance may be obtained from the Supervisor of X-ray Registration and Machine/Device Permitting at the Division of Radiological Health located in Nashville.

Applicants may refer to following publications:

» DRH Rule Chapter 0400-20-10-.09 & .10 State Regulations for Protection Against Radiation, General License-Source Material and General License-Radioactive Material other than Source Material
» TCA § 68-23-101
» US Atomic Energy Act of 1954
» 10 CFR Part 1
» Tennessee's "State Regulations for Protection Against Radiation"