William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
1-800-734-3619 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Gas & RICE
**Federal Rules Affecting Paint Stripping, Autobody Refinishing, and Miscellaneous Surface Coating Operations at Area/Small Sources**
EPA 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart HHHHHH (6H)
( See rule )
Painters at your facility are required to have training and certification every 5 years. There are several options for training, some of which are presented below for your convenience:
Other options are:
Attention!! All changes ina facility's operation or submitted information must be logged by December 31st of that year. For each change, the logged information must include the following:
The logged information must be submitted in an Annual Report to the appropriate air agencies by March 1st of the following year after the change(s).
Your APC Permit may require your facility to report this information at a certain date.
Keep copies of all Notifications, Logs, and Reports availiable at the facility at least 5 years (read permits for actual required time and form keeping data).
A Notice of Compliance is due by March 11, 2011
Sources in Shelby, Davidson, Knox and Hamilton Counties check with your local air program (Contacts)
If you have not submitted a notification stating facility compliance with 6H, then you should do so by March 11, 2011. - See sample compliance notification.
Contact the the Small Business Environmental Assistance Program’s at 1-800-734-3619 or by e-mail at BGSBEAP@tn.gov [Attention: Surface Coating]
On January 9, 2008, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency published rules to reduce air toxics including methylene chloride and other hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) from surface coating operations at area sources. The final rule is the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) for Paint Stripping and Miscellaneous Surface Coating Operations at Area Sources, 40 CFR Parte 63 Subpart HHHHHH (6H). See rule.
An Initial Notice was due January 11, 2010.
Area sources that conduct any of the following:
What are the Rule’s Exemptions (Please check, you could be exempt!)?
An area source is a source that does not have the potential to emit more than the following:
Note — The Tennessee Technology Centers may offer hands on training classes required by the new air pollution control rule. Please visit http://www.tbr.edu/schools/default.aspx?id=2654to find the location nearest you.
New Operations [started after September 17, 2007] (New)
Existing Operations [started on or before September 17, 2007]