5th floor, L&C Tower, Nashville, TN 37243
Questions? Ask SWM
• Toxic Substances Program
• Lead Safe TN Partnership
• Lead Hazard Program
• 2013 Lead Abatement Courses
• Commissioner's Certification Examination
• Conduct Lead-Based Paint Activities
• Become certified as an Individual
• Become certified as a Firm
• Notification of Lead-Based Paint Activity
• 1200-1-18 Lead Based-Paint Abatement Regs
• New HUD Guidelines
• Certified Lead-Based Paint Abatement Program
• Proposed Amendments to Rule Chapter
1200-01-18, Lead-Based Paint Abatement.
Renovate Right Brochure
English & Spanish
Rule Chapter 1200-1-18 Lead-Based Paint Abatement, effective September 26, 2000, implements Tennessee Code Annotated (T.C.A.) Section 68-131-401 et seq., Part 4-Tennessee Lead-Based Paint Abatement Certification Act of 1997. The State of Tennessee Lead Hazard Program became an EPA authorized program on January 17, 2001.
The Rule outlines procedures and requirements for accreditation of training programs, certification of professionals, and work practice standards for conducting lead-based paint abatement activities. The purpose is to ensure that individuals are properly trained and certified to conduct lead-based paint (LBP) activities in target housing and child-occupied facilities, using reliable, effective and safe work practice standards. Training programs are accredited to ensure that proper training is provided to LBP professionals regarding their being knowledgeable of and adhering to required standards. The regulations establish fees for testing, certification, accreditation, etc. and penalties for non-compliance. A 15-day Notification to the State is required prior to the commencement of risk assessments, inspections, clearances, and abatement projects (view risk assessment/inspection/clearance 15-day waiver statement). In addition, Tennessee's Lead-Based Paint Abatement Rule requires the distribution of Pre-Renovation Education prior to renovations in target housing and child-occupied facilities. The 'Renovate Right' brochure is the current document used to fulfill Pre-Renovation Education requirements. Please see the Notification of Lead-Based Paint Activity and Renovate Right links in the Helpful Links section of this page.
For additional information about the Commissioners Exam or about how to become a certified LBP firm or professional in Tennessee, call toll free: 1-888-771-LEAD.
NOTICE! A Tennessee contractor's license is required BEFORE bidding or offering a price! Reciprocal agreements do NOT allow using another state's license. (Note: Must bid/contract in exact name as licensed!)