Document 1 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS

PART 1
EXEMPTIONS


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 2 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-101. Short title.

26-2-101. Short title.

 

This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Personal Property Owner's Rights and Garnishment Act of 1978." 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 2; T.C.A., ァ 26-201.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 3 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-102. "Earnings," "disposable earnings," "garnishment," defined.

26-2-102. "Earnings," "disposable earnings," "garnishment," defined.

 

As used in this part unless the context otherwise requires: 

(1) "Earnings" means the compensation paid or payable for personal services, whether denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic payments pursuant to a pension or retirement program; 

(2) "Disposable earnings" means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those earnings of any amounts required by law to be withheld; and 

(3) "Garnishment" means any legal or equitable procedure through which the earnings of an individual are required to be withheld for payment of any debt. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 8; T.C.A., ァ 26-207, T.C.A., ァ 26-2-105.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 4 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-103. Personal property selectively exempt from seizure.

26-2-103. Personal property selectively exempt from seizure.

 

Personal property to the aggregate value of four thousand dollars ($4,000) debtor's equity interest shall be exempt from execution, seizure or attachment in the hands or possession of any person who is a bona fide citizen permanently residing in Tennessee, and such person shall be entitled to this exemption without regard to the debtor's vocation or pursuit or to the ownership of the debtor's abode. Such person may select for exemption the items of the owned and possessed personal property, including money and funds on deposit with a bank or other financial institution, up to the aggregate value of four thousand dollars ($4,000) debtor's equity interest. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 3; 1980, ch. 919, ァ 2; T.C.A., ァ 26-202, T.C.A., ァ 26-2-102.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 5 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-104. Additional personal property absolutely exempt.

26-2-104. Additional personal property absolutely exempt.

 

(a)  In addition to the exemption set out in ァ 26-2-105, there shall be further exempt to every resident debtor the following specific articles of personalty: 

(1) All necessary and proper wearing apparel for the actual use of debtor and family and the trunks or receptacles necessary to contain same; 

(2) All family portraits and pictures; 

(3) The family Bible and school books. 

(b)  The exemption under this section is absolute, and may be exercised by the judgment debtor before or after issuance of any execution, seizure or attachment by a judgment creditor, unless a judgment creditor, is by execution, foreclosing a security agreement on such property. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 5; T.C.A., ァ 26-204, T.C.A., ァ 26-2-103.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 6 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-105. State pension moneys, certain retirement plan funds or assets, exempt.

26-2-105. State pension moneys, certain retirement plan funds or assets, exempt.

 

(a)  All moneys received as pension from the state of Tennessee, or any subdivision or municipality thereof, before receipt, or while in the recipient's hands or upon deposit in the bank, shall be exempt from execution, attachment or garnishment other than an order for assignment of support issued under ァ 36-5-501, whether such pensioner is the head of a family or not. 

(b)  Except as provided in subsection (c), any funds or other assets payable to a participant or beneficiary from, or any interest of any participant or beneficiary in, a retirement plan which is qualified under ァァ 401(a), 403(a), 403(b), 408 and 408A of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, are exempt from any and all claims of creditors of the participant or beneficiary, except the state of Tennessee. All records of the debtor concerning such plan and of the plan concerning the debtor's participation in the plan, or interest in the plan, are exempt from the subpoena process. 

(c)  Any plan or arrangement described in subsection (b), except a public plan under subsection (a), is not exempt from the claims of an alternate payee under a qualified domestic relations order. However, the interest of any and all alternate payees under a qualified domestic relations order are exempt from any and all claims of any creditor, other than the state of Tennessee. As used in this subsection (c), "alternate payee" and "qualified domestic relations order" have the meaning ascribed to them in ァ 414(p) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. Notwithstanding any provision of this subsection (c) to the contrary, an optional retirement program established pursuant to title 8, chapter 35, part 4, shall honor claims under a qualified domestic relations order; provided, that such order complies with the provisions of ァ 8-35-410. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 7; T.C.A., ァ 26-206; Acts 1986, ch. 890, ァ 8; Acts 1988, ch. 854, ァ 1; 1997, ch. 303, ァ 2, T.C.A., ァ 26-2-104; Acts 2001, ch. 260, ァ 1; 2005, ch. 204, ァ 25.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 7 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-106. Maximum amount of disposable earnings exempt from garnishment - Garnishment costs.

26-2-106. Maximum amount of disposable earnings exempt from garnishment - Garnishment costs.

 

(a)  The maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any workweek which is subjected to garnishment may not exceed: 

(1) Twenty-five percent (25%) of the disposable earnings for that week; or 

(2) The amount by which the disposable earnings for that week exceed thirty (30) times the federal minimum hourly wage at the time the earnings for any pay period become due and payable, whichever is less. 

(b)  In the case of earnings for any pay period other than a week, an equivalent amount shall be in effect. 

(c)  The debtor shall pay the costs of any and all garnishments on each debt on which suit is brought. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 9; modified; T.C.A., ァ 26-208; Acts 2003, ch. 53, ァ 1.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 8 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-107. Exemptions for dependent children.

26-2-107. Exemptions for dependent children.

 

(a)  To the above allowances, there shall be added as exempt to the judgment debtor the sum of two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) per week for each dependent child under sixteen (16) years of age and a resident of this state. 

(b)  It is the responsibility of the judgment debtor to inform the employer of each dependent child claimed under this section. 

(c)  The provisions of this section shall not apply if the debtor fails to so inform the employer. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 11; T.C.A., ァ 26-210; Acts 1989, ch. 538, ァ 1.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 9 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-108. Personal earnings not exempt from order for alimony or child support.

26-2-108. Personal earnings not exempt from order for alimony or child support.

 

The personal earnings of the debtor shall not be exempt from an order, judgment, decree, installment thereof, or assignment for support as provided in title 36, chapter 5 and/or ァ 50-2-105, when such order, judgment or decree is rendered for the support of such debtor's minor child or children; nor when such order, decree or judgment is for alimony and the party in whose favor such order was rendered has not remarried. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 12; T.C.A., ァ 26-211; Acts 1981, ch. 61, ァ 2; 1990, ch. 789, ァ 3.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 10 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-109. Debtor deserting family - Property exempt in hands of spouse or children.

26-2-109. Debtor deserting family - Property exempt in hands of spouse or children.

 

When a debtor absconds or leaves such debtor's family, the exempted property shall be set apart for the use of the spouse and family, and shall be exempt in the hands of the spouse or children. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 14; T.C.A., ァ 26-213; Acts 1985, ch. 140, ァ 5.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 11 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-110. Insurance benefits exempt.

26-2-110. Insurance benefits exempt.

 

(a)  There shall be exempt from the claims of all creditors, and from execution, attachment, or garnishment, any sum or sums of money which may hereafter become due and payable to any person, who is a resident and citizen of this state, from any insurance company or other insurer, under the terms and provisions of any contracts of accident, health, or disability insurance insuring the assured against loss by reason of accidental personal injuries, or insuring the assured against loss by reason of physical disability resulting from disease. 

(b)  In the event of the death of any such person so insured as set out in subsection (a), any sum or sums of money so due and payable at the time of the death of the insured shall likewise be exempt from the claims of all creditors and from execution, attachment or garnishment, in the same manner as provided in ァァ 56-7-201, 56-7-203. 

(c)  As regards those cases where disability may have begun prior to May 21, 1937, the exemptions granted in subsections (a) and (b) shall apply to installment payments under such contract or contracts of insurance which may become due and payable for such weekly, monthly or other installment term (as determined by the contract of insurance) as may have commenced on or after such date. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァァ 15-17; T.C.A., ァァ 26-214 - 26-216.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 12 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-111. Additional exemptions - Certain benefit payments - Awards - Tools of trade - Health care aids - Child support obligations.

26-2-111. Additional exemptions - Certain benefit payments - Awards - Tools of trade - Health care aids - Child support obligations.

 

In addition to the property exempt under ァ 26-2-103, the following shall be exempt from execution, seizure or attachment in the hands or possession of any person who is a bona fide citizen permanently residing in Tennessee: 

(1) The debtor's right to receive: 

(A) A social security benefit, unemployment compensation, a Families First program benefit or a local public assistance benefit; 

(B) A veterans' benefit; 

(C) A disability, illness, or unemployment benefit, or a pension that vests as a result of disability; 

(D) To the same extent that earnings are exempt pursuant to ァ 26-2-106, a payment under a stock bonus, pension, profitsharing, annuity, or similar plan or contract on account of death, age or length of service, unless: 

(i) Such plan or contract was established by or under the auspices of an insider that employed the debtor at the time that the debtor's rights under such plan or contract arose; 

(ii) Such payment is on account of age or length of service; and 

(iii) Such plan or contract does not qualify under ァァ 401(a), 403(a), 403(b), 408, 408A, or 409 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 [26 U.S.C. ァァ 401(a), 403(a), 403(b), 408, 408A or 409]; 

The assets of the fund or plan from which any such payments are made, or are to be made, are exempt only to the extent that the debtor has no right or option to receive them except as monthly or other periodic payments beginning at or after age fifty-eight (58). Assets of such funds or plans are not exempt if the debtor may, at the debtor's option, accelerate payment so as to receive payment in a lump sum or in periodic payments over a period of sixty (60) months or less; 

(E) Alimony to the extent that payment becomes due more than thirty (30) days after the debtor asserts a claim to such exemption in any judicial proceeding; and 

(F) Child support payments to the extent that payment becomes due more than thirty (30) days after the debtor asserts a claim to such exemption in any judicial proceeding; 

(2) The debtor's right not to exceed in the aggregate fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) to receive or property that is traceable to: 

(A) An award not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) under a crime victim's reparation law; 

(B) A payment, not to exceed seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500) on account of personal bodily injury, not including pain and suffering or compensation for actual pecuniary loss, of the debtor or an individual of whom the debtor is a dependent; or 

(C) A payment not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000) on account of the wrongful death of an individual of whom the debtor was a dependent; 

(3) A payment in compensation of loss of future earnings of the debtor or an individual of whom the debtor is or was a dependent, to the extent reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and any dependent of the debtor; 

(4) The debtor's aggregate interest, not to exceed one thousand nine hundred dollars ($1,900) in value in any implements, professional books, or tools of the trade of the debtor or the trade of a dependent of the debtor; 

(5) Professionally prescribed health care aids for the debtor or a dependent of the debtor; and 

(6) Liquid assets, stocks or bonds, to the extent of the amount of any obligations owed by the debtor pursuant to any final court order or judgment for child support.  The exemption shall be effective as of the date such exemption is claimed by the debtor or by an intervening representative of the child or children to whom such support is owed.  Further, this exemption is only valid if such assets are immediately deposited into court by the debtor or immediately executed upon, seized or attached on behalf of the child or children for the partial or full satisfaction of child support obligations. 

 

[Acts 1980, ch. 919, ァ 3; T.C.A., ァ 26-217; Acts 1994, ch. 880, ァァ 1, 2; 1996, ch. 932, ァ 1; 1999, ch. 103, ァ 1; 2001, ch. 260, ァ 2.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 13 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-112. Exemptions for the purpose of bankruptcy.

26-2-112. Exemptions for the purpose of bankruptcy.

 

The personal property exemptions as provided for in this part, and the other exemptions as provided in other sections of the Tennessee Code Annotated for the citizens of Tennessee, are hereby declared adequate and the citizens of Tennessee, pursuant to section 522 (b) (1), Public Law 95-598 known as the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, Title 11 USC, section 522 (b) (1), are not authorized to claim as exempt the property described in the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, 11 USC 522 (d). 

 

[Acts 1980, ch. 919, ァ 4; T.C.A., ァ 26-901.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 14 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-113. Exemptions in criminal cases - Exemptions not applicable in certain cases.

26-2-113. Exemptions in criminal cases - Exemptions not applicable in certain cases.

 

Property exempted by this part shall be exempt from seizure in criminal as well as in civil cases, but the same shall not be exempt from distress or sale for taxes; or for fines and costs for voting out of the civil district or ward in which the voter lives; or for carrying deadly or concealed weapons contrary to law; or for giving away or selling intoxicating liquors on election days. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 13; modified; T.C.A., ァ 26-212.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 15 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-114. Procedure for exercising exemption - Notice.

26-2-114. Procedure for exercising exemption - Notice.

 

(a)  Should a bona fide citizen permanently residing in Tennessee become a judgment debtor, such debtor must exercise the exemption as provided in ァ 26-2-103 by filing a list of all the items owned, constructive or actual, which the judgment debtor chooses to declare as exempt, together with the value of each such item. Such listing shall be on oath and filed with the court having jurisdiction. Furthermore, the judgment debtor may modify or amend the listing from time to time as the individual deems necessary. 

(b)  Such claim for exemption by way of listing, modification or amendment thereto may be filed either before or after the judgment in the case has become final and shall have effect as to any execution issued after the date such claim for exemption is filed. However, subject to such exemption as is further set forth herein, a claim for exemption filed after the judgment has become final will have no effect as to an execution which is issued prior to the date the claim for exemption is filed, and as to such preexisting execution the claim for exemption shall be deemed waived. 

(c)  It is the duty of the clerk of the court from which process is issued to cause to be stapled to, printed upon or otherwise securely affixed to the warrant, summons or other leading process in the action a typed or printed notice which shall read as follows:
 

NOTICE 

TO THE DEFENDANT OR DEFENDANTS: 

Tennessee law provides a four thousand dollar ($4,000) personal property exemption from execution or seizure to satisfy a judgment. If a judgment should be entered against you in this action and you wish to claim property as exempt, you must file a written list, under oath, of the items you wish to claim as exempt with the clerk of the court. The list may be filed at any time and may be changed by you thereafter as necessary; however, unless it is filed before the judgment becomes final, it will not be effective as to any execution or garnishment issued prior to the filing of the list. Certain items are automatically exempt by law and do not need to be listed; these include items of necessary wearing apparel for yourself and your family, and trunks or other receptacles necessary to contain such apparel, family portraits, the family Bible, and school books. Should any of these items be seized, you would have the right to recover them. If you do not understand this exemption right or how to exercise it, you may wish to seek the counsel of a lawyer. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァ 4; impl. am. Acts 1980, ch. 919, ァ 2; modified; T.C.A., ァ 26-203.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 16 of 16

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 1 EXEMPTIONS /26-2-115. Examination of judgment debtor.

26-2-115. Examination of judgment debtor.

 

 

Document 1 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT

PART 2
GARNISHMENT


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 2 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-201. Definitions.

26-2-201. Definitions.

As used in this part: 

(1) "Clerk" means a clerk of a court of general sessions, the courts of record or any other courts duly established under the laws of Tennessee. 

(2) "Court" means the court of general sessions, the courts of record or any other courts duly established under the law of Tennessee. 

(3) "Property, debts, and effects" includes real estate and choses in action, whether due or not, and judgments before a court; also money or stocks in an incorporated company. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 21; modified; T.C.A., § 26-231.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 3 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-202. Property, debts and effects liable to satisfy judgment.

26-2-202. Property, debts and effects liable to satisfy judgment.

All property, debts and effects of the defendant in the possession or under the control of the garnishee shall be liable to satisfy the plaintiff 's judgment, from the service of the notice, or from the time they came into the plaintiff's hands, if acquired subsequent to the service of notice, and before judgment. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 21; T.C.A., § 26-231.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 4 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-203. Summons of garnishee.

26-2-203. Summons of garnishee.

(a)  The officer may summon, in writing, any person as garnishee, to appear at the court from which the execution is issued, or before any other court to whom the execution is returnable, as the case may be and answer the garnishment, at a time set by the clerk of the court not less than ten (10) days after date of issuance, except that such ten-day requirement shall not apply when the execution was issued from a court and either the officer or the clerk of the court shall set the time when such garnishee shall appear. 

    (b)  The summons to the garnishee shall notify the garnishee as follows:
 


      NOTICE - Although you have a longer time in which to answer the court concerning this garnishment, you must do the following on the same day you receive the garnishment, or on the next working day. Determine if you possess or control money or property of the judgment debtor. If so, within that same time period, you shall furnish a copy of the garnishment summons and Notice to Judgment Debtor by mailing them first class, postage prepaid, to the judgment debtor's last known address as shown by your records, or by actual delivery to the judgment debtor. If the address shown by your records differs from that shown at the bottom of the Notice to Judgment Debtor, you shall also mail a copy of the garnishment and notice to the latter address.
 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 22; T.C.A., § 26-232; Acts 1988, ch. 934, § 13.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 5 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-204. Examination of garnishee - Answer.

26-2-204. Examination of garnishee - Answer.

(a)  The garnishee may be required to answer under oath: 

(1) Whether such garnishee is, or was at the time of the garnishment, indebted to the defendant; if so, how and to what amount; 

(2) Whether such garnishee had in possession or under such garnishee's control any property, debts, or effects belonging to the defendant, at the time of serving the notice, or has at the time of answering, or has had at any time between the date of service and the time of answering; if so the kind and amount; 

(3) Whether there are, to such garnishee's knowledge and belief, any and what property, debts, and effects in the possession or under control of any other, and what, person; 

(4) Such other questions appearing on or attached to the original execution put to the garnishee by the court of the judgment creditor as may tend to elicit the information sought. 

(b)  The garnishee may appear and make an answer initially either in person or by filing a written answer. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 23; T.C.A., § 26-233; Acts 1986, ch. 761, § 1.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 6 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-205. Garnishee's answer - Effect.

26-2-205. Garnishee's answer - Effect.

The answer of the garnishee is not conclusive. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 24; T.C.A., § 26-234; Acts 1991, ch. 273, § 38.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 7 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-206. Execution awarded for property in garnishee's hands.

26-2-206. Execution awarded for property in garnishee's hands.

If, upon the answer and the examination of the garnishee, it appears that the garnishee has property, debts, or effects in the garnishee's hands or under the garnishee's control, liable for the plaintiff's debt, judgment may be entered, and execution awarded for the property, money, or effects, as the case may be, or so much thereof as will be sufficient to satisfy the plaintiff 's debt and costs and all charges incident to the proceedings. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 25; T.C.A., § 26-235.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 8 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-207. Notice to other persons holding defendant's property.

26-2-207. Notice to other persons holding defendant's property.

So, also, if the garnishee's examination shows that any property, debts, or effects of the defendant are probably in the hands of other persons, the court shall, on the application of the plaintiff, issue notice to such persons to come forward and answer as garnishees, and the same proceedings may be had as in other cases. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 26; T.C.A., § 26-236.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 9 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-208. Delivery of garnisheed property - Judgment for nondelivery.

26-2-208. Delivery of garnisheed property - Judgment for nondelivery.

As soon as the property is declared to be the property of the defendant, under the provisions of §§ 26-2-206 and 26-2-207, it shall be delivered up to the officer serving the garnishment, on demand. On failure to deliver such property, and a return made on the execution of that fact, judgment shall be entered immediately against the garnishee, for the debt and costs. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 27; T.C.A., § 26-237.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 10 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-209. Failure to appear or answer.

26-2-209. Failure to appear or answer.

The date garnishee's answer is received by the court clerk shall be noted on the docket book in the proper manner, whether or not the answer discloses any property subject to garnishment. If the garnishee fails to appear or answer, a conditional judgment may be entered against the garnishee for the plaintiff's debt, upon which a notice shall issue to the garnishee returnable at such time as the court may require, to show cause why judgment final should not be rendered against the garnishee. On failure of the garnishee to appear and show cause, the conditional judgment shall be made final, and execution awarded for the plaintiff 's entire debt and costs. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 28; T.C.A., § 26-238.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 11 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-210. Levy of execution on land.

26-2-210. Levy of execution on land.

If an execution is issued by a court that is not a court of record and a levy is made upon land or an interest in land, then the execution and other papers in connection therewith shall be returned to the circuit court of the county for condemnation as in other cases of the levy of a court's execution on land. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 29; T.C.A., § 26-239.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 12 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-211. Execution stayed until choses in action become due.

26-2-211. Execution stayed until choses in action become due.

Execution of the garnishment judgment may be stayed until the choses in action fall due, and the court may order them to be collected, or if necessary, sold, as may be deemed just and proper. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 30; T.C.A., § 26-240.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 13 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-212. Certificate given to garnishee stating date and amount of judgment.

26-2-212. Certificate given to garnishee stating date and amount of judgment.

The garnishee against whom judgment has been rendered is entitled to a certificate from the clerk stating the date and amount of the garnishment judgment, in whose favor and in what case rendered. Such certificate shall have all the force and effect of a receipt against the original debt, and entitle the garnishee to a credit to the amount thereof on the original judgment, or on the execution if already issued, to be entered by the officer. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 31; T.C.A., § 26-241.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 14 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-213. Lien upon debts due and payable in future.

26-2-213. Lien upon debts due and payable in future.

If upon disclosure made on oath by the debtor it appears that the garnishee is indebted to the defendant, but that the debt is not payable and will not become due until some future time, then such judgment as the plaintiff may recover shall constitute a lien upon the debt until and at the time it becomes due and payable. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 32; T.C.A., § 26-242.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 15 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-214. Garnishment of compensation due from employer.

26-2-214. Garnishment of compensation due from employer.

(a)  Upon the garnishment of salaries, wages or other compensation due from the employer garnishee, the garnishee shall: 

(1) Pay the judgment debtor the amount of such debtor's exempt salaries, wages or other compensation; 

(2) Submit as a part of the judgment debtor's answer to the garnishment a statement of the judgment debtor's dependent children under sixteen (16) years of age who are residents of this state; and 

(3) Furnish the judgment debtor with a copy of the garnishment summons containing the notice of the judgment debtor's right to the exemptions from wage garnishment specified in federal law and in §§ 26-2-106 and 26-2-107, of the right to apply to the court for an order staying further garnishment proceedings and allowing the judgment debtor to pay the judgment in installments and of procedures the judgment debtor can follow to contest the garnishment. 

(b) (1)  To the extent of the amount due upon the judgment and costs, the employer garnishee shall hold, subject to the order of the court, any non-exempt wages due or which subsequently become due. The judgment or balance due thereon is a lien on salaries, wages, or other compensation due at the time of the service of the execution. Such lien shall continue as to subsequent earnings until the total amount due upon the judgment and costs is paid or satisfied, or until the expiration of the employer's payroll period immediately prior to six (6) calendar months after service of the execution, whichever occurs first. Such lien on subsequent earnings shall terminate sooner if the employment relationship is terminated or if the underlying judgment is vacated or modified. 

(2) A lien obtained hereunder shall have priority over any subsequent liens obtained hereunder. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 33; T.C.A., § 26-243; Acts 1988, ch. 934, § 14; 1993, ch. 258, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch. 827, § 1.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 16 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-215. Employer to remit withheld moneys to court.

26-2-215. Employer to remit withheld moneys to court.

The employer garnishee shall remit to the court all moneys withheld as provided under § 26-2-214 not less than one (1) time each calendar thirty (30) days. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 34; T.C.A., § 26-244.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 17 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-216. Installment payments to obtain stay of garnishment - Service of garnishment summons.

26-2-216. Installment payments to obtain stay of garnishment - Service of garnishment summons.

(a) (1)  After any judgment has been rendered in any court and the time to appeal therefrom has elapsed without such an appeal having been made, the judge of the court which rendered the judgment may, either before or after the issuance and service of garnishment, upon written consent of the parties or upon written motion of the judgment debtor, after due notice and after full hearing of such motion, enter an order requiring such judgment debtor to pay to the clerk of the court a certain sum of money weekly, biweekly or monthly to apply upon such judgment. The filing of such motion by the debtor shall stay the issuance, execution or return of any writ of garnishment against wages or salary due the judgment debtor or any other funds belonging to the judgment debtor sought to be substituted to the satisfaction or payment of or upon such judgment during the period that such judgment debtor complies with the order of the court. Such motion of the judgment debtor shall be supported by an affidavit stating the debtor's inability to pay such debt with funds other than those earned by the debtor as wages or salary, or received from other sources in such amounts as to necessitate or make equitable installment payments, the name and address of the debtor's employer, or other source of funds and amount of such wages or salary, and the date of payment thereof. 

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision (a)(1), upon written consent of the parties, the hearing of the judgment debtor's motion to pay the judgment in installments may be held on the same date that such judgment is entered. 

(3) The judgment debtor may file only one (1) motion to establish payments for each judgment; however, if the motion is denied, or the order establishing payments is not complied with, at the court's discretion for good cause shown, the stay order may be reinstated as provided in § 26-2-217, with the reinstated stay order to affect only pay periods subsequent to the reinstatement. 

(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision (a)(1), the filing of a motion by a judgment debtor who has admitted the debt and is paying the judgment by agreed installment payments shall not stay the issuance, execution or return of any writ of garnishment against wages or salary due the judgment debtor or any satisfaction or payment of or upon such judgment. 

(b) (1)  It is the duty of the sheriff or other officer serving the garnishment summons upon the employer garnishee to: 

(A) Obtain a receipt acknowledging service of such summons signed by the employer garnishee, if a person, or signed by an officer, managing agent or designated agent for service of the employer garnishee, if a corporation, company or business entity; or 

(B) Sign and return to the court a sworn statement to the effect that the summons was duly served but such employer garnishee or such officer, managing agent or designated agent of the employer garnishee refused to sign a receipt acknowledging service; and 

(C) The garnishment summons served by the sheriff shall have attached a notice to the employer that the employer is required to withhold the garnishment amount from the employee's wages, that the employer is required to pay these moneys to the court, and that the employer is liable for failure to withhold from the garnishee's wages and for failure to pay these moneys to the court. 

      (2) The sheriff or other officer shall serve three (3) copies of the garnishment summons upon the employer garnishee, all of which shall contain a conspicuously typed or printed notice which shall read as follows:
 

    IN THE ________ COURT FOR ________ COUNTY, TENNESSEE

________________         )
      Plaintiff,         )
         )
          vs.         )          CASE NO. ____________

________________         )
      Defendant.         )

  NOTICE OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR (AND NOTICE TO  GARNISHEE)
NOTICE TO THE DEBTOR (EMPLOYEE): Your earnings have been subjected to a garnishment which has been served upon your employer. The garnishment creates a lien on a portion of your wages until the judgment is satisfied, or for three (3) months, whichever occurs first. You have the following rights:
   
  Some of your wages are protected by state and federal law from garnishment. See the notice below to the employer to find out how much of your wages are protected from garnishment.
   
  IF YOUR EMPLOYER IS TAKING TOO MUCH MONEY FROM YOUR WAGES:
    You may apply to the court at the clerk's office shown below within twenty (20) days from any improper withholding of your wages for a motion to stop the garnishment. The court clerk identified below shall provide you with a form for making such a motion, or may have supplied a form motion on the back of this notice. You may wish to seek the counsel of a lawyer. If you are unable to afford an attorney, you may be eligible for free legal services to assist you.
   
  PLEASE NOTE: If you file a motion, the court must hear and decide your motion promptly, and in no event later than fourteen (14) days from filing. The clerk will notify you of the time, date, and place of hearing. The court clerk's office can provide you with forms and with information about legal services in your area, but the clerk  cannot give you legal advice.
   
  IF THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF MONEY IS BEING TAKEN FROM YOUR WAGES BUT YOU WANT TO GET THE GARNISHMENT STOPPED THROUGH A PAYMENT PLAN:
    You may apply to the court for an order suspending further garnishments by the same creditor upon your paying a certain sum of money weekly, biweekly, or monthly, to pay the judgment. If you file this motion, the garnishment of your wages will stop for as long as you make the payments  ordered by the court.
    The court clerk shall provide you with the necessary forms to make this application, or you may seek the counsel of an attorney. If you are unable to afford an attorney, you may be eligible for free legal services to assist you.
   
  NOTICE TO THE GARNISHEE (EMPLOYER): THE MAXIMUM PART OF THE AGGREGATE DISPOSABLE EARNINGS OF AN INDIVIDUAL FOR ANY WORK WEEK WHICH IS SUBJECTED TO GARNISHMENT MAY NOT EXCEED:

    (A) Twenty-five percent (25%) of the garnishee's disposable earnings for that week, minus two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) for each of the garnishee's dependent children under sixteen (16) years of age who resides in the state of Tennessee as provided in
§ 26-2-107; or

    (B) The amount by which the garnishee's disposable earnings for that week exceed thirty (30) times the federal minimum hourly wage at the time the earnings for any pay period become due and payable, minus two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) for each of the garnishee's dependent children under sixteen (16) years of age who resides in the state of Tennessee, whichever is less.
    "Disposable earnings" means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those earnings of any amounts required by law to be withheld.
    In the case of earnings for a pay period other than a week, the weekly formula must be changed to apply to that pay period so as to exempt an equivalent percentage of disposable earnings. For example, the calculation concerning the federal minimum wage in subsection (b) should be computed as follows: WEEKLY: 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage (fmw) at the time the earnings for any pay period become due and payable; BI-WEEKLY: two (2) times thirty (30) fmw; SEMI-MONTHLY: two (2) and one-sixth (21/6) times thirty (30) fmw; and MONTHLY: four (4) and one-third (41/3) times thirty (30) fmw equals the amount to be subtracted from disposable earnings for that pay period.
    If the judgment orders alimony and the person in whose favor the judgment was rendered has remarried, the above exemption applies. If the judgment orders the debtor to pay support for the debtor's minor child or children, or alimony and the person in whose favor the alimony judgment was rendered has not remarried, different standards apply under 15 U.S.C.
§ 1672(b). If the debtor is supporting a spouse or dependent child other than those for whom the order was entered, then fifty percent (50%) of the debtor's disposable earnings may be garnished. If the debtor is not supporting such additional dependents, a maximum of sixty percent (60%) may be garnished. These figures rise to fifty-five percent (55%) and sixty-five percent (65%), respectively, if the support order is for a period more than twelve (12) weeks before the pay period to be garnished.
    If the judgment is for state or federal taxes, no disposable earnings are exempt under 15 U.S.C.
§ 1673(b).
NAME:     _____________    ________________________
     (Clerk of Court)         (Judgment Debtor)
ADDRESS:     _____________    ________________________
        (Provided by Creditor)

        _____________    ________________________

        _____________    ________________________
TELEPHONE:     _____________
 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 35; Acts 1980, ch. 519, § 1; 1980, ch. 596, § 1; T.C.A., § 26-245; Acts 1981, ch. 179, § 1; 1985, ch. 52, §§ 1, 2; 1988, ch. 934, § 15; 1989, ch. 95, § 1; 1989, ch. 404, §§ 1, 2; 1989, ch. 538, § 2; 1990, ch. 789, § 4; 2004, ch. 828, § 1.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 18 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-217. Payments - Records - Delinquency - Notice of balance or of satisfaction.

26-2-217. Payments - Records - Delinquency - Notice of balance or of satisfaction.

(a)  The clerk shall keep a record in such cause of all payments to and disbursements by the clerk. 

(b) (1)  Upon failure of such judgment debtor to comply with such order, the clerk shall make notation thereof on the record in such cause, and thereupon the stay of execution by garnishment shall immediately and without further act by any party become null and void; 

(2) The judge in whose court judgment was rendered may, upon proper showing by affidavit of the judgment debtor and after full hearing thereof, reinstate the order and stay of garnishment, or may amend the order so as to alter the terms and the amount of payment, if it shall appear that such default was due to the lack of employment or other justifiable cause beyond the control of the judgment debtor. 

(c) (1)  In any case in which a garnishment has been answered by an employer garnishee and while the lien of garnishment created thereby is in effect the underlying judgment is paid in full or otherwise satisfied of record in the clerk's office, it shall be the duty of the court clerk promptly to notify the garnishee of the satisfaction of the judgment and the expiration of the lien of garnishment; 

(2) The judgment creditor shall notify the court clerk of the balance due upon a judgment whenever the creditor causes the issuance or revival of a garnishment thereon. Furthermore, the judgment creditor shall notify the court clerk when the judgment has been satisfied. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 36; T.C.A., § 26-246.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 19 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-218. Written agreement for installment payments.

26-2-218. Written agreement for installment payments.

A written agreement for the payment of a judgment in installments, signed by the parties, their attorneys, or authorized agents acting in their behalf, and filed with the clerk of the court, shall have the same force and effect as an order made by the judge to stay the issuance, execution or return of any writ of garnishment against wages or salary due the judgment debtor during the period that such judgment debtor complies with the agreement. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 37; T.C.A., § 26-247.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 20 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-219. Failure to comply with agreement.

26-2-219. Failure to comply with agreement.

(a)  Should the judgment debtor fail to strictly comply with the terms of an agreement as provided by § 26-2-218, the stay of execution by garnishment shall immediately become null and void. 

(b)  Upon the stay of execution by garnishment becoming void and the issuance and service of garnishment having taken place prior to the proceeding to obtain a stay of garnishment, the lien on wages provided by this section shall have priority over all liens executed subsequent to the original date of issuance. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 38; T.C.A., § 26-248.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 21 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-220. Applicability of provisions for garnishment on attachments.

26-2-220. Applicability of provisions for garnishment on attachments.

The provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated in regard to garnishment on attachments also regulate proceedings under this part whenever applicable. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 39; modified; T.C.A., § 26-249.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 22 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-221. Garnishment of compensation due from state - Amount exempted.

26-2-221. Garnishment of compensation due from state - Amount exempted.

Garnishment of salaries, wages or other compensation due from the state, or from any county or municipality, to any officer or employee thereof, is permissible. Garnishment of compensation due from the state to contractors or vendors of the state is permissible. No such officer, employee, contractor, or vendor may validly claim any privilege or immunity in that regard. Such officer, employee, contractor, or vendor shall be entitled to an exemption of the amount of wages, salary, or compensation so due as is exempt from levy or garnishment in favor of officers, employees, contractors, or vendors of private corporations in like circumstances. However, notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, nothing set forth in this section shall be construed to apply to or to allow garnishments of state compensation to contractors or vendors of the state where the state determines that payment of such garnishment would result in an interruption of essential state services. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 40; T.C.A., § 26-250; Acts 2001, ch. 412, § 1.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 23 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-222. Garnishment procedure for state officers or employees.

26-2-222. Garnishment procedure for state officers or employees.

(a)  In case of garnishment of officers, employees, contractors, or vendors of the state, garnishment notice may issue from any court or any court of record and shall be served upon the commissioner of that department in which such officer, employee, contractor, or vendor shall be engaged, or with which the garnishee is connected. The date of service shall be the date upon which service upon the commissioner has been accomplished. If such garnishment is not served as set forth above, such service shall be considered ineffective, and the state shall not be liable for any sums due thereunder. Such commissioner, or the commissioner's designee, is directed to make answer to such garnishment notice or summons, stating the compensation, if any, due any state officer, employee, contractor, or vendor so garnisheed. Such commissioner is directed to withhold any amounts then due the state officer, employee, contractor, or vendor up to and including the amount of the judgment and costs on which the garnishment proceedings were predicated, until the garnishment is released by the issuing court or such funds are paid into that court, as provided by law, and is directed to pay to such officer, employee, contractor, or vendor any amount or sum which may be due such officer, employee, contractor, or vendor above the amount of such judgment and costs, or if applicable, above the amount of each periodic payment made from successive pay periods. 

(b)  In addition to the amount of the disposable earnings subject to garnishment, the state department of finance and administration shall be entitled to retain an administrative fee of five dollars ($5.00) due from the judgment debtor at the time of each payment made to the court as a result of the garnishment. The five dollar ($5.00) fee will be retained from the balance of the judgment debtor's earnings remaining after deducting the payment made to the garnishing court. If the maximum garnishable amount has been reached prior to retaining the five dollar ($5.00) fee, then such amount due shall remain owing to the state until paid. 

(c)  The time at which the garnishment lien attaches to the amounts due the state officer, employee, contractor, or vendor shall be seven (7) business days from the date of service of the garnishment. 

(d)  If the commissioner in the department in which the officer, employee, contractor, or vendor works, or the commissioner's duly authorized agent or attorney, fails to appear and answer such garnishment, it shall be presumed that the state is indebted to the officer, employee, contractor, or vendor to the full amount of the judgment creditor's demand, and thereupon a conditional judgment may be entered against the state for the judgment to the extent of the garnishable funds paid out by the state which were due the debtor during the period the garnishment was effective. 

(e)  After the entry of such conditional judgment a scire facias shall issue to the commissioner of the department in which the garnisheed officer, employee, contractor, or vendor works, returnable to the next term of the court or to a day and place fixed by the court, to show cause why final judgment should not be entered against the state. 

(f)  Upon the return of such scire facias, fully served upon the commissioner of the department in which the garnisheed officer, employee, contractor, or vendor works, and upon the failure of the state to appear and show cause, the conditional judgment against the state shall be made final. In such event, the commissioner is directed to pay any such judgment and deduct the amount thereof from wages, salaries, or other compensation owing to such officer, employee, contractor, or vendor garnisheed under this part. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in any case in which judgment is obtained under the provisions of this section, if there is no compensation due such officer, employee, contractor, or vendor so garnisheed during the period such garnishment was effective, such judgment against the state shall be void and unenforceable. 

(g)  Any process required to be served under this section may be served, pursuant to the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure, by a private process server. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, §§ 41-44; T.C.A., §§ 26-251 - 26-254; Acts 2001, ch. 412, § 2.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 24 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-223. No wages due garnisheed employee - Judgment null and void.

26-2-223. No wages due garnisheed employee - Judgment null and void.

In any case where judgment is obtained under the provisions of §§ 26-2-205 - 26-2-208, if there are no wages due such employee so garnished, such judgment shall be void and unenforceable. 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, § 45; T.C.A., § 26-255.]


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 25 of 25

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 2 GARNISHMENT /26-2-224. Time for execution when multiple writs exist.

26-2-224. Time for execution when multiple writs exist.

(a)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law or rule to the contrary, a writ of garnishment that is filed later in time than another such writ, and which deducts the maximum amount allowable by law from the debtor's wages, shall not run concurrently with the earlier filed writ with regard to the six-month time limit prescribed in § 26-2-214. Such later filed writ of garnishment shall not begin to run until the earlier filed writ's judgment has been satisfied, such earlier filed writ has expired, or such earlier filed writ has been stayed by installment motion as prescribed in § 26-2-216. 

(b)  The time limit prescribed in § 26-2-214 shall not be extended beyond six (6) months from the date of filing if the garnishee has failed to answer or remit funds for such later filed writ. 

(c)  Nothing in this section shall be construed to affect the date of attachment or the status of any underlying statutory or common law lien rights of any later filed writ of garnishment. 

[Acts 2000, ch. 856, § 1.]

——————————


© 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

(a)  Upon proper application by the judgment creditor, the judgment creditor may examine any person, including the judgment debtor, in order to determine the truth and correctness of the facts stated in the judgment debtor's listing as provided in ァ 26-2-114. 

(b)  Upon application of the judgment creditor, the court may inquire into the truth and sufficiency of the debtor's claim for exemption, and may, where the debtor knowingly makes false claim for exemption, enter an order denying the debtor the right to make further claim for exemption as to that creditor's judgment. The clerk shall immediately forward a copy thereof to the employer. The creditor may likewise challenge the employer's answer in the manner now provided by law. 

 

[Acts 1978, ch. 915, ァァ 6, 10; T.C.A., ァァ 26-205, 26-209.]

 
覧覧覧覧覧


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

 

Document 1 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS

PART 3
HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 2 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-301. Basic exemption.

26-2-301. Basic exemption.

 

(a)  An individual, whether a head of family or not, shall be entitled to a homestead exemption upon real property which is owned by the individual and used by the individual or the individual's spouse or dependent, as a principal place of residence. The aggregate value of such homestead exemption shall not exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000); provided, individuals who jointly own and use real property as their principal place of residence shall be entitled to homestead exemptions, the aggregate value of which exemptions combined shall not exceed seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500), which shall be divided equally among them in the event the homestead exemptions are claimed in the same proceeding; provided, if only one (1) of the joint owners of real property used as their principal place of residence is involved in the proceeding wherein homestead exemption is claimed, then the individual's homestead exemption shall be five thousand dollars ($5,000). The homestead exemption shall not be subject to execution, attachment, or sale under legal proceedings during the life of the individual. Upon the death of an individual who is head of a family, any such exemption shall inure to the benefit of the surviving spouse and their minor children for as long as the spouse or the minor children use such property as a principal place of residence. 

(b)  If a marital relationship exists, a homestead exemption shall not be alienated or waived without the joint consent of the spouses. 

(c)  The homestead exemption shall not operate against public taxes nor shall it operate against debts contracted for the purchase money of such homestead or improvements thereon nor shall it operate against any debt secured by the homestead when the exemption has been waived by written contract. 

(d)  A deed, installment deed, mortgage, deed of trust, or any other deed or instrument by any other name whatsoever conveying property in which there may be a homestead exemption, duly executed, conveys the property free of homestead exemption, but the homestead exemption may not be waived in a note, other instrument evidencing debt, or any other instrument not conveying property in which homestead exemption may be claimed. 

(e)  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) to the contrary, an unmarried individual who is sixty-two (62) years of age or older shall be entitled to a homestead exemption not exceeding twelve thousand five hundred dollars ($12,500) upon real property that is owned by the individual and used by the individual as a principal place of residence; a married couple, one (1) of whom is sixty-two (62) years of age or older and the other of whom is younger than sixty-two (62) years of age, shall be entitled to a homestead exemption not exceeding twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) upon real property that is owned by one (1) or both of the members of the couple and used by the couple as their principal place of residence; and a married couple, both of whom are sixty-two (62) years of age or older, shall be entitled to a homestead exemption not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) upon real property that is owned by one (1) or both of the members of the couple and used by the couple as their principal place of residence. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 1; 1870-1871, ch. 71, ァ 4; 1879, ch. 171, ァァ 1, 2; Shan., ァ 3798; mod. Code 1932, ァ 7719; Acts 1933, ch. 72, ァ 1; 1943, ch. 131, ァ 1; C. Supp. 1950, ァ 7719; Acts 1975, ch. 285, ァ 1; 1979, ch. 61, ァ 1; 1980, ch. 919, ァ 1; T.C.A., ァ 26-301; Acts 2004, ch. 659, ァ 1.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 3 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-302. Life estates and equitable estates.

26-2-302. Life estates and equitable estates.

 

The provisions of ァ 26-2-301 shall apply to life estates and equitable estates which are owned by an individual and used by the individual or individual's spouse or dependent as a principal place of residence. The homestead exemption in such estates shall be set apart as the court may prescribe in ordering the sale. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 2; Shan., ァ 3801; Code 1932, ァ 7722; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 2; T.C.A., ァ 26-303.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 4 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-303. Leasehold estates.

26-2-303. Leasehold estates.

 

The provisions of ァ 26-2-301 shall apply to leasehold real property which is possessed and used by an individual, an individual's spouse, or an individual's dependent, as a principal place of residence, provided such leasehold estate is for more than two (2) and not exceeding fifteen (15) years. The homestead exemption upon leasehold estates shall not be exempt from execution or attachment for rent due thereon. 

 

[Acts 1866-1867, ch. 36, ァァ 1, 2; Shan., ァァ 3802, 3803; Code 1932, ァァ 7723, 7724; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 3; T.C.A., ァ 26-304.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 5 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-304. Insurance proceeds from homestead.

26-2-304. Insurance proceeds from homestead.

 

All moneys arising from insurance on a homestead which is destroyed by fire, or by other disaster, shall be exempt in an amount not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000). This insurance exemption shall not operate so as to exclude the interest of any mortgagee at the time of the insurance loss so long as the mortgagee's interest is evidenced by a written contract. 

 

[Code 1932, ァ 7734; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 4; T.C.A., ァ 26-305.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 6 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-305. Family cemeteries and burial lots.

26-2-305. Family cemeteries and burial lots.

 

Any interest or estate in a family cemetery, not in excess of one (1) acre, or in a burial lot in a cemetery, or a space in a mausoleum, or a certificate of ownership thereof, is exempt from levy of execution or attachment except as in case of homestead. 

 

[Code 1932, ァ 7735; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), ァ 26-306.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 7 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-306. Exemption inapplicable in certain cases.

26-2-306. Exemption inapplicable in certain cases.

 

The homestead shall not be exempt from sale for the payment of public taxes legally assessed upon it, or from sale for the satisfaction of any debt or liability contracted for its purchase or legally incurred for improvements made thereon. It shall be exempt from seizure in criminal as well as in civil cases, but not exempt from distress or sale for taxes; or for fines and costs for voting out of the civil district, precinct or ward in which the voter lives; or for carrying deadly or concealed weapons contrary to law; or for giving away or selling intoxicating liquors on election days. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 1; 1870-1871, ch. 71, ァ 5; 1879, ch. 171, ァ 2; impl. am. Acts 1891, ch. 1, ァ 19; Shan., ァ 3799; Code 1932, ァ 7720; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), ァ 26-307.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 8 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-307. Right of selection.

26-2-307. Right of selection.

 

Each individual who is entitled to a homestead exemption shall have the right to elect where the homestead shall be set apart. 

 

[Acts 1879, ch. 171, ァ 1; Shan., ァ 3800; Code 1932, ァ 7721; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 5; T.C.A., ァ 26-308.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 9 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-308. Procedure to set apart.

26-2-308. Procedure to set apart.

 

Whenever real property of an individual who is entitled to a homestead exemption thereon is levied on by execution or attachment, the individual's homestead shall be set apart in the following manner: 

(1) The officer executing the writs shall summon three (3) disinterested freeholders, not connected with the parties, and administer to them an oath to set apart the homestead out of the real estate so levied on; 

(2) The freeholders shall examine the premises and upon oath set apart the homestead, if so desired by the individual entitled to the exemption, and set out in writing the boundaries thereof, and certify that such is the homestead set apart by them, and deliver the same to the debtor; and 

(3) The remainder only of such lands so levied on or attached shall be subject to sale, which fact shall be returned on the execution. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 3; 1879, ch. 171, ァ 3; Shan., ァ 3804; Code 1932, ァ 7725; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 6; T.C.A., ァ 26-309.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 10 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-309. Sale and reinvestment of exempt proceeds.

26-2-309. Sale and reinvestment of exempt proceeds.

 

When the real estate levied on is of greater value than five thousand dollars ($5,000), and is so situated that it cannot be divided so as to set apart the homestead, the freeholders shall certify the fact, and the officer may proceed to sell the whole tract, and out of the proceeds the officer shall pay to the clerk of the court rendering the judgment, or condemning the land for sale, five thousand dollars ($5,000), to be invested under the order of the court, in the purchase of a homestead for the debtor, and only the surplus over and above five thousand dollars ($5,000) shall be applied to the payment of the execution. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 4; Shan., ァ 3805; Code 1932, ァ 7726; impl. am. Acts 1933, ch. 72, ァ 1; C. Supp. 1950, ァ 7726; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 7; T.C.A., ァ 26-310.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 11 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-310. Registration of freeholder's certificate.

26-2-310. Registration of freeholder's certificate.

 

The officer shall certify upon the certificate of the freeholders that the same is their act and deed, and the debtor shall have the same registered in the register's office of the county in which the lands lie, and, when so registered, it shall vest in the individual entitled to such homestead exemption, as herein provided, a good and valid title to the land exempt from execution. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 5; Shan., ァ 3806; Code 1932, ァ 7727; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 8; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), ァ 26-311.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 12 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-311. Setting apart for deserted family.

26-2-311. Setting apart for deserted family.

 

When a debtor absconds or abandons the debtor's family, the homestead shall be set apart for the use of the spouse and family, and shall be exempt in the hands of the spouse or children; and such property, on the death of the owner, shall be exempt in the hands of the surviving spouse and children, as prescribed in ァ 30-2-105. 

 

[Acts 1870-1871, ch. 71, ァ 6; Shan., ァ 3810al; Code 1932, ァ 7732; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), ァ 26-312.]

 
覧覧覧覧覧


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 1 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS

PART 3
HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 2 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-301. Basic exemption.

26-2-301. Basic exemption.

 

(a)  An individual, whether a head of family or not, shall be entitled to a homestead exemption upon real property which is owned by the individual and used by the individual or the individual's spouse or dependent, as a principal place of residence. The aggregate value of such homestead exemption shall not exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000); provided, individuals who jointly own and use real property as their principal place of residence shall be entitled to homestead exemptions, the aggregate value of which exemptions combined shall not exceed seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500), which shall be divided equally among them in the event the homestead exemptions are claimed in the same proceeding; provided, if only one (1) of the joint owners of real property used as their principal place of residence is involved in the proceeding wherein homestead exemption is claimed, then the individual's homestead exemption shall be five thousand dollars ($5,000). The homestead exemption shall not be subject to execution, attachment, or sale under legal proceedings during the life of the individual. Upon the death of an individual who is head of a family, any such exemption shall inure to the benefit of the surviving spouse and their minor children for as long as the spouse or the minor children use such property as a principal place of residence. 

(b)  If a marital relationship exists, a homestead exemption shall not be alienated or waived without the joint consent of the spouses. 

(c)  The homestead exemption shall not operate against public taxes nor shall it operate against debts contracted for the purchase money of such homestead or improvements thereon nor shall it operate against any debt secured by the homestead when the exemption has been waived by written contract. 

(d)  A deed, installment deed, mortgage, deed of trust, or any other deed or instrument by any other name whatsoever conveying property in which there may be a homestead exemption, duly executed, conveys the property free of homestead exemption, but the homestead exemption may not be waived in a note, other instrument evidencing debt, or any other instrument not conveying property in which homestead exemption may be claimed. 

(e)  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) to the contrary, an unmarried individual who is sixty-two (62) years of age or older shall be entitled to a homestead exemption not exceeding twelve thousand five hundred dollars ($12,500) upon real property that is owned by the individual and used by the individual as a principal place of residence; a married couple, one (1) of whom is sixty-two (62) years of age or older and the other of whom is younger than sixty-two (62) years of age, shall be entitled to a homestead exemption not exceeding twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) upon real property that is owned by one (1) or both of the members of the couple and used by the couple as their principal place of residence; and a married couple, both of whom are sixty-two (62) years of age or older, shall be entitled to a homestead exemption not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) upon real property that is owned by one (1) or both of the members of the couple and used by the couple as their principal place of residence. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 1; 1870-1871, ch. 71, ァ 4; 1879, ch. 171, ァァ 1, 2; Shan., ァ 3798; mod. Code 1932, ァ 7719; Acts 1933, ch. 72, ァ 1; 1943, ch. 131, ァ 1; C. Supp. 1950, ァ 7719; Acts 1975, ch. 285, ァ 1; 1979, ch. 61, ァ 1; 1980, ch. 919, ァ 1; T.C.A., ァ 26-301; Acts 2004, ch. 659, ァ 1.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 3 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-302. Life estates and equitable estates.

26-2-302. Life estates and equitable estates.

 

The provisions of ァ 26-2-301 shall apply to life estates and equitable estates which are owned by an individual and used by the individual or individual's spouse or dependent as a principal place of residence. The homestead exemption in such estates shall be set apart as the court may prescribe in ordering the sale. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 2; Shan., ァ 3801; Code 1932, ァ 7722; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 2; T.C.A., ァ 26-303.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 4 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-303. Leasehold estates.

26-2-303. Leasehold estates.

 

The provisions of ァ 26-2-301 shall apply to leasehold real property which is possessed and used by an individual, an individual's spouse, or an individual's dependent, as a principal place of residence, provided such leasehold estate is for more than two (2) and not exceeding fifteen (15) years. The homestead exemption upon leasehold estates shall not be exempt from execution or attachment for rent due thereon. 

 

[Acts 1866-1867, ch. 36, ァァ 1, 2; Shan., ァァ 3802, 3803; Code 1932, ァァ 7723, 7724; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 3; T.C.A., ァ 26-304.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 5 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-304. Insurance proceeds from homestead.

26-2-304. Insurance proceeds from homestead.

 

All moneys arising from insurance on a homestead which is destroyed by fire, or by other disaster, shall be exempt in an amount not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000). This insurance exemption shall not operate so as to exclude the interest of any mortgagee at the time of the insurance loss so long as the mortgagee's interest is evidenced by a written contract. 

 

[Code 1932, ァ 7734; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 4; T.C.A., ァ 26-305.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 6 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-305. Family cemeteries and burial lots.

26-2-305. Family cemeteries and burial lots.

 

Any interest or estate in a family cemetery, not in excess of one (1) acre, or in a burial lot in a cemetery, or a space in a mausoleum, or a certificate of ownership thereof, is exempt from levy of execution or attachment except as in case of homestead. 

 

[Code 1932, ァ 7735; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), ァ 26-306.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 7 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-306. Exemption inapplicable in certain cases.

26-2-306. Exemption inapplicable in certain cases.

 

The homestead shall not be exempt from sale for the payment of public taxes legally assessed upon it, or from sale for the satisfaction of any debt or liability contracted for its purchase or legally incurred for improvements made thereon. It shall be exempt from seizure in criminal as well as in civil cases, but not exempt from distress or sale for taxes; or for fines and costs for voting out of the civil district, precinct or ward in which the voter lives; or for carrying deadly or concealed weapons contrary to law; or for giving away or selling intoxicating liquors on election days. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 1; 1870-1871, ch. 71, ァ 5; 1879, ch. 171, ァ 2; impl. am. Acts 1891, ch. 1, ァ 19; Shan., ァ 3799; Code 1932, ァ 7720; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), ァ 26-307.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 8 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-307. Right of selection.

26-2-307. Right of selection.

 

Each individual who is entitled to a homestead exemption shall have the right to elect where the homestead shall be set apart. 

 

[Acts 1879, ch. 171, ァ 1; Shan., ァ 3800; Code 1932, ァ 7721; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 5; T.C.A., ァ 26-308.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 9 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-308. Procedure to set apart.

26-2-308. Procedure to set apart.

 

Whenever real property of an individual who is entitled to a homestead exemption thereon is levied on by execution or attachment, the individual's homestead shall be set apart in the following manner: 

(1) The officer executing the writs shall summon three (3) disinterested freeholders, not connected with the parties, and administer to them an oath to set apart the homestead out of the real estate so levied on; 

(2) The freeholders shall examine the premises and upon oath set apart the homestead, if so desired by the individual entitled to the exemption, and set out in writing the boundaries thereof, and certify that such is the homestead set apart by them, and deliver the same to the debtor; and 

(3) The remainder only of such lands so levied on or attached shall be subject to sale, which fact shall be returned on the execution. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 3; 1879, ch. 171, ァ 3; Shan., ァ 3804; Code 1932, ァ 7725; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 6; T.C.A., ァ 26-309.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 10 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-309. Sale and reinvestment of exempt proceeds.

26-2-309. Sale and reinvestment of exempt proceeds.

 

When the real estate levied on is of greater value than five thousand dollars ($5,000), and is so situated that it cannot be divided so as to set apart the homestead, the freeholders shall certify the fact, and the officer may proceed to sell the whole tract, and out of the proceeds the officer shall pay to the clerk of the court rendering the judgment, or condemning the land for sale, five thousand dollars ($5,000), to be invested under the order of the court, in the purchase of a homestead for the debtor, and only the surplus over and above five thousand dollars ($5,000) shall be applied to the payment of the execution. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 4; Shan., ァ 3805; Code 1932, ァ 7726; impl. am. Acts 1933, ch. 72, ァ 1; C. Supp. 1950, ァ 7726; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 7; T.C.A., ァ 26-310.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 11 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-310. Registration of freeholder's certificate.

26-2-310. Registration of freeholder's certificate.

 

The officer shall certify upon the certificate of the freeholders that the same is their act and deed, and the debtor shall have the same registered in the register's office of the county in which the lands lie, and, when so registered, it shall vest in the individual entitled to such homestead exemption, as herein provided, a good and valid title to the land exempt from execution. 

 

[Acts 1870, ch. 80, ァ 5; Shan., ァ 3806; Code 1932, ァ 7727; Acts 1979, ch. 61, ァ 8; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), ァ 26-311.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 12 of 12

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 3 HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS /26-2-311. Setting apart for deserted family.

26-2-311. Setting apart for deserted family.

 

When a debtor absconds or abandons the debtor's family, the homestead shall be set apart for the use of the spouse and family, and shall be exempt in the hands of the spouse or children; and such property, on the death of the owner, shall be exempt in the hands of the surviving spouse and children, as prescribed in ァ 30-2-105. 

 

[Acts 1870-1871, ch. 71, ァ 6; Shan., ァ 3810al; Code 1932, ァ 7732; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), ァ 26-312.]

 
覧覧覧覧覧


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 1 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS

PART 4
EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 2 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-401. Applicability.

26-2-401. Applicability.

 

The provisions of this part shall apply to executions and garnishments in aid of execution in supplement to other applicable provisions of law; provided, that the contents of the Notice to Judgment Debtor required in connection with a wage garnishment shall be governed by ァ 26-2-216. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ 2.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 3 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-402. Statement showing address, amount owed.

26-2-402. Statement showing address, amount owed.

 

Upon requesting the issuance of an execution or garnishment, the judgment creditor, or the judgment creditor's agent or attorney, shall file a statement showing the judgment debtor's last known address, the amount owed on the judgment, and the judgment creditor's address for mailing any notice required under this part.  If a clerk issues an execution or a garnishment without demand, the clerk shall ascertain such information from the court records.  The judgment debtor's last known address as furnished by the judgment creditor or as ascertained by the clerk shall be included on the notice required by ァ 26-2-204 or by ァ 26-2-216. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ 3; 1989, ch. 404, ァ 3.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 4 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-403. Notice required.

26-2-403. Notice required.

 

(a)  No clerk shall issue an execution or garnishment unless it provides the notice required by ァ 26-2-404 or by ァ 26-2-216. No clerk shall issue a garnishment unless it also contains the notice required by ァ 26-2-203. 

(b)  No sheriff or other officer shall summon a garnishee unless the garnishment provides the notice required by ァ 26-2-404 or by ァ 26-2-216, and unless it provides the notice required by ァ 26-2-203. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァァ 4, 5.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 5 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-404. Contents of notice.

26-2-404. Contents of notice.

 

    (a)  The following notice shall be completed and shall appear in the text of an execution or garnishment or shall be securely attached thereto:


IN THE ________ COURT FOR ____________ COUNTY, TENNESSEE
_____________         )
Plaintiff,         )
         )
     vs.         )          CASE NO. __________
_____________         )
Defendant.         )


NOTICE  TO  JUDGMENT  DEBTOR

  To  collect a judgment against you in this lawsuit, your money or other property has been seized by execution or garnishment. An execution allows the sheriff to sell the property levied upon. A garnishment requires your bank (or other person holding your money or property) to transfer your property to the court or to hold it to satisfy the judgment.

  READ  THIS  CAREFULLY. YOU MAY BE ABLE TO KEEP YOUR MONEY OR PROPERTY OR GET IT BACK.

  State and federal laws prevent certain types of money or property from being used to pay a judgment. Such money or property is "exempt." Examples of exempt money are: Social security benefits, SSI, unemployment benefits, Veterans' benefits, AFDC, and most government pensions. Examples of exempt property are certain health care aids and "tools of trade." These examples of exempt money and property constitute only a partial list, and you may have other exemptions.

  If you think you have exempt  money or property that has been seized, you have the right to file a motion with the court clerk's office identified below claiming your exemption and asking for the release or return of your money or property.

  You can get a form for filing this motion at the clerk's office below, or the clerk may have supplied such a form on the back of this notice. YOU SHOULD ACT QUICKLY. If you file a motion within twenty (20) days from the date this notice was mailed to you or was given to you, the court must hear and decide your motion promptly, and in no event later than fourteen (14) days from filing. The clerk will notify you of the time, date, and place of the hearing.

  IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND YOUR RIGHTS OR HOW TO EXERCISE THEM, YOU MAY WISH TO CONSULT WITH A LAWYER. IF YOU CANNOT AFFORD A LAWYER, YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR FREE LEGAL ASSISTANCE. The court clerk's office can provide you with forms and with information about legal services in your area, but the clerk cannot give you legal advice.

  NAME:     ______________        ________________________
     (Clerk of Court)         (Judgment Debtor)

  ADDRESS:     ______________        ________________________
        (Provided by Creditor)
     ______________        ________________________
     ______________        ________________________

  TELEPHONE: ______________
   

GARNISHMENT CALCULATION

(b)  The amount of wages withheld in a garnishment depends upon whether the judgment is for child support or alimony or for some other debt. 

The two (2) ways to calculate the withholding are: 


  
(1) IF THE JUDGMENT IS FOR ANY DEBT OTHER THAN FOR ALIMONY OR
    CHILD SUPPORT:
    (A)  What is total gross pay before any deductions?            $
                                                                   ___________
                                                                   _
    (B)  How much is deducted from pay for social security and
         federal income tax?                                       ___________
                                                                   _
    (C)  Subtract subdivision (b)(1)(B) from subdivision
         (b)(1)(A). This is disposable earnings.                   ___________
                                                                   _
    (D)  Are wages paid once every week, once every two (2)
         weeks, once a month or two (2) times per month?
         If once every week, enter $127.50.                        ___________
                                                                   _
         If once every two (2) weeks, enter $255.00.               ___________
                                                                   _
         If two (2)  times per month, enter $276.25.               ___________
                                                                   _
         If once per month, enter $552.50.                         ___________
                                                                   _
    (E)  Subtract subdivision (b)(1)(D) from subdivision
         (b)(1)(C). If subdivision (b)(1)(E) is $0 or less,
         STOP.  NO WAGES MAY BE WITHHELD.  If subdivision
         (b)(1)(E) is more than $0, go on to (F).                  ___________
                                                                   _
    (F)  Divide subdivision (b)(1)(C) by 4.
    (G)  Enter the lesser of subdivision (b)(1)(E) or
         subdivision (b)(1)(F).                                    ___________
                                                                   _
    (H)  How many children does the debtor have under sixteen
         (16) years of age living in Tennessee?                    ___________
                                                                   _
    (I)  Multiply subdivision (b)(1)(H) by $2.50 per week ($5.00
         if wages are paid every two (2) weeks; $5.42 if paid
         two (2) times a month; and $10.83 if paid once per
         month).                                                   ___________
                                                                   _
    (J)  Subtract subdivision (b)(1)(I) from subdivision
         (b)(1)(G).  This is the amount of wages to withhold. If
         this amount is $0 or less, nothing should be withheld
         from wages.                                               ___________
                                                                   _
(2) IF THE JUDGMENT IS FOR CHILD SUPPORT OR ALIMONY:
    (A)  If the judgment is for alimony and the ex-spouse has
         remarried, withhold the amount in subdivision (b)(1)(J).  $
                                                                   ___________
                                                                   _
    (B)  If the judgment is for child support, or the judgment
         is for alimony and the ex-spouse has not remarried,
         multiply disposable earnings (subdivision (b)(1)(C)) by:
         -  .50 if the employee is supporting another spouse or
            child and the arrearage is less than twelve (12)
            weeks old;                                             ___________
                                                                   _
         -  .55 if the employee is supporting another spouse or
            child and the arrearage is more than twelve (12)
            weeks old;                                             ___________
                                                                   _
         -  .60 if the employee is NOT supporting another spouse
            or child and the arrearage is less than twelve (12)
            weeks old;                                             ___________
                                                                   _
         -  .65 if the employee is NOT supporting another spouse
            or child and the arrearage is more than twelve (12)
            weeks old.                                             ___________
                                                                   _
            Withhold this amount from wages, or the amount
            actually ordered to be paid for alimony or child
            support, whichever is less.                            ___________
                                                                   _

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ  6; 1991, ch. 516, ァ 1.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 6 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-405. Copy of execution furnished judgment debtor.

26-2-405. Copy of execution furnished judgment debtor.

 

A sheriff or other officer who levies an execution upon property of a judgment debtor shall immediately thereafter on that same or next working day provide the judgment debtor with a copy of the execution that describes the property levied upon and with a completed copy of the notice set forth in ァ 26-2-404 by mailing them first class, postage prepaid, to the judgment debtor at the address provided pursuant to ァ 26-2-402, or by actual delivery to the judgment debtor. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ 7.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 7 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-406. Mailing of garnishment to judgment debtor.

26-2-406. Mailing of garnishment to judgment debtor.

 

A sheriff or other officer who summons a garnishee shall provide the garnishee with three (3)  copies of the garnishment summons providing the completed notice required by ァ 26-2-404 or by ァ 26-2-216, whichever is applicable. On that same or the next working day, the garnishee shall determine if such garnishee possesses or controls money or property of the judgment debtor; and if so, within that same time period shall furnish a copy of the garnishment summons and notice by mailing them first class, postage prepaid, to the judgment debtor's last known address as shown by the garnishee's records, or by actual delivery to the judgment debtor. If the address as shown by the garnishee's records differs from that provided by the creditor as shown on the bottom of the completed notice, the garnishee shall also mail a copy of the garnishment and notice to the judgment debtor at the latter address by first class mail, postage prepaid. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ 8.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 8 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-407. Motion to quash execution or garnishment.

26-2-407. Motion to quash execution or garnishment.

 

A judgment debtor may assert exemption rights after the service of an execution or garnishment by filing a motion to quash the garnishment or execution. The motion to quash must be filed within the following time periods: 

(1) Twenty (20) days from the mailing of the notice required by ァ 26-2-404 in the event of a levy of execution; 

(2) Twenty (20) days from the withholding of wages by a garnishee/employer pursuant to a wage garnishment; and 

(3) With respect to any other garnishment, twenty (20) days from the mailing of the notice required by ァ 26-2-404 pursuant to that garnishment. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ 9.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 9 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-408. Property determined to be exempt.

26-2-408. Property determined to be exempt.

 

No sheriff or other officer shall conduct an execution sale, and no clerk shall pay out funds received pursuant to an execution or garnishment until the judgment debtor's time has expired for filing a motion to quash, or until a judicial determination has been made on such motion. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the ability of the judgment creditor and the judgment debtor to resolve by agreed order the judgment debtor's motion asserting exemption rights. When property has been determined to be exempt by agreement or by judicial determination, the property shall be immediately released to the judgment debtor. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ 10.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 10 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-409. Copies of forms to be furnished.

26-2-409. Copies of forms to be furnished.

 

The University of Tennessee county technical assistance service shall provide clerks of court with forms for judgment debtors to use in filing a motion to quash an execution or garnishment on the ground of exemption rights, in otherwise asserting their exemption rights, or in filing a motion to pay a judgment by installments. Clerks shall provide a copy of these forms to judgment debtors upon request. Nothing herein shall be construed as prohibiting clerks from printing an appropriate form motion to quash on the reverse side of the notices required by ァァ 26-2-404 and 26-2-216, so that the judgment debtor may assert applicable exemption rights. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ 11.]


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.

Document 11 of 11

Source:
Tennessee Code/TITLE 26 EXECUTION /CHAPTER 2 EXEMPTIONS - GARNISHMENT /PART 4 EXECUTIONS AND GARNISHMENTS IN AID OF EXECUTIONS /26-2-410. Hearing on exemptions - Notice.

26-2-410. Hearing on exemptions - Notice.

 

Upon the filing of a motion to quash or other motion claiming exemption rights by the judgment debtor, the clerk shall immediately schedule a hearing on the motion. The court shall conduct the hearing and adjudicate the matter promptly, and in no event later than fourteen (14) days from the filing of the motion. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the ability of judges to interchange with each other as provided in title 17, chapter 2. The clerk shall provide reasonable notice to the judgment debtor and creditor of the time, date, and place of hearing. 

 

[Acts 1988, ch. 934, ァ 12.]

 
覧覧覧覧覧


ゥ 2006 by the State of Tennessee and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved. Use of this product is subject to the restrictions and terms and conditions of the Matthew Bender Master Agreement.