Skip to Content

Career Centers

Workforce Training

Tennessee's statewide Career Center System is sub-divided into 13 Local Workforce Investment Areas. These areas, which are administered by a local board, are clusters of counties whose labor market and other employment related factors are similar. Consequently, each area provides workforce development and career services based on local needs.

Tennessee Map Showing Local Workforce Investment Areas

LWIA #01 Area Served:

Carter, Johnson, Sullivan, Washington & Unicoi Counties.
Administrative Entity
Alliance for Business & Training

Tammy Sluder
423-547-7500 Ext. 133

LWIA #08 Area Served:

Cheatham, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, Robertson, Stewart, Sumner & Williamson Counties.
Administrative Entity
Workforce Essentials, Inc.

Marla Rye

LWIA #02 Area Served:

Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson, Sevier & Union Counties.
Administrative Entity
Walters State Community College

Dr. Nancy Brown

LWIA #09 Area Served:

Davidson, Rutherford, Trousdale, & Wilson Counties.
Administrative Entity
Nashville Career Advancement Center

Brian Clark
615-862-8890 Ext. 301

LWIA #03 Area Served:

Knox County.
Administrative Entity
Workforce Connections

Knoxville-Knox County
Community Action Committee

Vaughn Smith

LWIA #10 Area Served:

Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Marshall, Maury, Perry & Wayne Counties.
Administrative Entity
South Central Tennessee Workforce Board

Jan McKeel

LWIA #04 Area Served:

Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Cumberland, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane & Scott Counties.
Administrative Entity
East Tennessee Human Resource Agency

Deb Petree
865-590-1052 Ext. 107

LWIA #11 Area Served:

Chester, Decatur, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, McNairy & Madison Counties.
Administrative Entity
Southwest Tennessee Human Resource Agency

Jimmy Bell

LWIA #05 Area Served:

Bledsoe, Bradley, Hamilton, McMinn, Marion, Meigs, Polk, Rhea & Sequatchie counties.
Administrative Entity
Southeast Tennessee Development District

Phyllis Casavant

LWIA #12 Area Served:

Benton, Carroll, Crockett, Dyer, Gibson, Henry, Lake, Lauderdale, Obion, Tipton & WeakleyCounties.
Administrative Entity
Dyersburg State Community College

Ann Pennell
731-286-3585 Ext. 20

LWIA #06 Area Served:

Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Grundy, Lincoln, Moore & Warren Counties.
Administrative Entity
Workforce Solutions

Gary Morgan

LWIA #13 Area Served:

Fayette & Shelby Counties.
Administrative Entity
Workforce Investment Network

Melanie Winfield

LWIA #07 Area Served:

Cannon, Clay, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Smith, VanBuren & White Counties.
Administrative Entity
Upper Cumberland Human Resource Agency

Pat Callahan