To be entitled to benefits an individual must be
Out of work due to no fault of his own
Physically able to work
Actively seeking work
Ready to accept work
These notices allow employers who pay quarterly premiums to request that their account not be charged. A non-charge may be granted if a claimant voluntarily quits a base period employer without a good work-related cause, was discharged from the base period employer for willful, work-related misconduct, or is still working part-time for the base period employer. The employer has 15 days to return the Employer Notice of Claim Filed card to the Benefit Charge Unit requesting a non-charge.
When an unemployment claim is filed, all base period employers are sent an Employer Notice of Claim Filed card. The LB-0502 is not an indication that the individual is eligible, only that the claim was filed.
Contact Employer Accounts at .
Tennessee law sets the fifteen day response time, and federal law requires the agency to pay or deny benefits promptly. Employers should respond to the request immediately. However, if the response is late for an unavoidable reason, the agency may extend the response time.
Employers should send their response to the return address shown on the form.
The Department sent the LB-0810 because the former employee filed a claim for UI and has subsequently been paid UI benefits. In this situation, the employer should respond to the notice and explain how the job ended. If possible, the employer should provide the Department with the name and address of the employer for the other job. Employers are not charged for benefits when the former employee quit for a non-compelling reason. There is a 15-day response time for this notice; however, if the response is late for an unavoidable reason, we may extend the response time.
The LB-0810 is mailed to the last employer at the time a UI claim is filed. The LB-0481 is mailed to all base period employers after the first payment has been made on a claim. These notices are required by law.
An employer may receive both notices for the same separation, but is only required to respond to the first notice received. The LB-0481 will indicate if an employer has already received a ruling on a separation based on the response to the LB-0810.
The Department does not reply if the employer’s response only reports the last day of work or that the employee was laid off due to a lack of work.
The Department and employers can work together to assist laid off employees. The department can provide information on services such as
Recruitment and Referral Services
Contact the Dislocated Worker Services Unit at (615) 532-5945
The WARN Act has very specific requirements. Employers with 100 or more employees who are planning mass layoffs (of 50 or more workers for a period of 30 days or more) or plant closures must give the affected employees at least 60 advance days written notice of the layoff. Report mass layoffs or plant closures to
Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development
Dislocated Worker Unit
220 French Landing Drive
Nashville, Tennessee 37245-0658 ·
Toll Free: 1-(800) 255-5872
To collect UI benefits aliens must establish that they were in satisfactory immigration status and authorized to work in the United States when earning the wages used to establish their claim. In addition, the claimant must provide proof that he remains in satisfactory immigration status and is authorized to work each week that benefits are claimed. The Department verifies immigration status and work authorization through an electronic system maintained by the Immigration and Naturalization Service.
An employer who wants to report this information may submit the following specific details in writing:
Name, address, and phone number of the individual
Social security number
Where they are working (address and phone number if known)
Dates of employment
If self employed, type of business and any known customers or clients
Send the information to
Benefit Payment Control
220 French Landing Drive
Nashville, TN 37243-1002
A ruling is issued by the Department and is based on the reason the claimant’s job ended. It advises whether the employer’s reserve account will be charged as a result of benefits paid to the claimant.
A determination is a written notice mailed to the claimant and/or an employer that provides a decision on a claimant’s eligibility for UI benefits. The determination is issued by the Department and may be based on the reason the claimant’s job ended, or other eligibility issues.
The form will have contact information for the proper employer account representative.
Our representatives will assist employers in reviewing or obtaining agency held documents, and materials that will enable them to protect their reserve account. For assistance contact If you have questions about your employer account you can contact the Employer Accounts Office nearest you.
Area Employer Accounts Offices
Johnson City 423-952-2261
Nashville Central Office
Employer Services 615-741-2486
Employer Accounting 615-741-1619
Wage Records 615-741-3280
Report Audit 615-741-2538
Delinquency Control 615-741-5103
Toll-Free Number 1-800-344-8337 (Inside Tennessee)