Skip to Content

How to Report an Accident

Employers are required by law to report all workplace fatalities or catastrophes (three or more employees hospitalized from one incident) within EIGHT hours of occurrence. The toll free number to call to report the incident is 1-800-249-8510. To report a fatality or catastrophe after hours, call Federal OSHA at 1-800-321-OSHA.

Effective February 24, 2015, reporting requirements will change as follows:

  1. All work-related fatalities within 8 hours.
  2. All work-related inpatient hospitalizations, all amputations and all losses of an eye within 24 hours.

You can report to Tennessee OSHA by

  1. Calling Tennessee OSHA’s main office at 1-800-249-8510  or, afterhours, by calling the national OSHA call service at 1-800-321-OSHA (6742).
  2. Calling your closest TOSHA Area Office during normal business hours http://www.tn.gov/labor-wfd/tosha/toshaoffices.shtml
  3. Using the new online form that will soon be available.

Only fatalities occurring within 30 days of the work-related incident must be reported to Tennessee OSHA. Further, for an in-patient hospitalization, amputation or loss of an eye, these incidents must be reported to Tennessee OSHA only if they occur within 24 hours of the work-related incident.

Additional information on recordkeeping an reporting is located at https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping2014/index.html