Skip to Content

Division of Planning, Research and Forensics

Regional Planning and Policy Councils

The Office of Planning coordinates the Statewide and Regional Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Planning and Policy Councils, which are established under T.C.A. §33-1-401 and T.C.A. §33-2-202 (mental health and developmental disability law). Title 33 of the Tennessee Code Annotated requires a structured planning process of council participation. These Councils include the participation of consumers, family members of consumers, providers, and advocates. Council participants advise TDMHSAS on the development of the Three-Year Plan, including a desirable array of prevention, early intervention, treatment services, and supports for individuals and their families. The Councils also assist the TDMHSAS in the annual assessment of need for mental health and substance abuse services. Furthermore, the Council advises the TDMHSAS of policy, formation of budget requests, and the development of and evaluation of services.

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Planning Regions

Click for Larger Map

There is a Statewide TDMHSAS Planning and Policy Council, along with seven Regional TDMHSAS Planning and Policy Councils (representing the seven regions across Tennessee):

  • Region One: Carter, Greene, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi, Washington counties
  • Region Two: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Jefferson, Hamblen, Knox, Louden, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, Union counties
  • Region Three: Bledsoe, Bradley, Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentress, Grundy, Hamilton, Jackson, Macon, Marion, McMinn, Meigs, Overton, Pickett, Polk, Putnam, Rhea, Sequatchie, Smith, Van Buren, Warren, White counties
  • Region Four: Davidson County
  • Region Five: Bedford, Cannon, Cheatham, Coffee, Dickson, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Maury, Marshall, Montgomery, Moore, Perry, Robertson, Rutherford, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Wayne, Williamson, Wilson counties
  • Region Six: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Tipton, Weakley counties
  • Region Seven: Shelby County

For the schedule of meetings for the Regional Planning and Policy Councils, please click here.

People interested in serving on one of the Planning and Policy Councils should send their curriculum vitae to

Planning Links