Skip to Content

Specialty License Plates - Emergency/Safety

Amateur Radio

Amateur Radio - This plate is available to owners or lessees of passenger motor vehicles who are residents of the state of Tennessee and who hold an un-revoked and un-expired official amateur radio license issued by the FCC.

The annual fee for automobiles is $46.50. If the applicant is a member of emergency or rescue squad or ARES, the annual fee is $21.50. The annual fee for motorcycles is $39.50. If the applicant is a member of emergency or rescue squad or ARES, the annual fee is $14.50.

Personalized plates are not available.

The registration is authorized under the emergency category but has a separate plate. The application for Amateur Radio license plates must be supported with a copy of the FCC Amateur Radio license submitted to the Vehicle Services Division.

For office use only: Class Code - 3010 (automobile); 5102 (motorcycle)


Emergency

Emergency - This plate is available to Tennessee residents that are members of the Auxiliary Police, Civil Air Patrol (spouse included), or Civil Defense, TEMA, Rescue Squads, Emergency Services Squad, Police Officers, Emergency Medical Technicians, Paramedics, Trauma Nurses and on-call surgical staff.

The annual fee is $21.50 and personalized plates are not available.

  • The Civil Air Patrol and Civil Defense shall provide a letter from the local emergency management director indicating current membership of the applicant and their spouse and eligibility to receive this plate.
  • Police officers must have written certification from the organization's chief law enforcement officer.
  • Members of the Auxiliary Police must provide a permanent identification card of the auxiliary police unit.
  • All others must provide their license to practice or organization Id card.
  • Applies only to Civil Air Patrol
  • Trauma nurses and on-call surgical staff must have a letter from the chief of staff at the hospital where they work stating that effect.

For office use only: Class Code - 3100; 5557 (motorcycle)


Emergency Trauma Physician

Emergency Trauma Physician - This plate is available to any Tennessee resident who is a trauma physicians licensed by the board of medical examiners. A trauma physician shall submit a statement or certification from the board of medical examiners and from a trauma center in a hospital or other medical facility confirming that the applicant practices medicine as a trauma physician.

The annual fee for this plate is $21.50 (with an ititial fee of $25.75) and personalized plates are not available.

For office use only: Class Code - 3875


Firefighter

Firefighter - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are members of volunteer fire departments, full-time fire fighting units or other bona fide firefighters, including paid, paid-on-call or volunteer, or bona fide retired firefighters. Applicants must provide proof of current membership in a firefighting unit or proof of former membership in firefighting unit, from which the applicant retired in good standing.

The annual fee for this plate is $21.50 and personalized plates are not available.

For office use only: Class Code - 3141; 5558 (motorcycle)


Fraternal Order of Police

Fraternal Order of Police - This plate is available to owner's or lessees of motor vehicles who are Tennessee residents and are certified as members of the Tennessee Fraternal Order of Police. The annual fee is $56.50 and $15.62 of the additional $35 collected is allocated to the Tennessee FOP Charitable Foundation. An applicant must have certification from the Tennessee Fraternal Order of Police that they are a member. Plates can be personalized with 5 characters available. When a member is terminated, they have 30 days to surrender the plate to the county clerk's office.

For office use only: Class Code - 3150; if personalized - 2290; 5555 (motorcycle); if personalized - 5556 (motorcycle)


International Association of Firefighters

International Association of Firefighters - This plate is available to any Tennessee resident who is a certified member of the International Association of Firefighters (IAFF). Applicants must furnish membership credentials.

The annual fee is $56.50 and $15.13 of the $35 additional fee is allocated to the Tennessee Firefighters Emergency Relief Fund. Plates can be personalized with 4 characters available.

For office use only: Class Code - 3140; if personalized - 2360; 5559 (motorcycle); if personalized - 5560 (motorcycle)


Rescue Squad

Rescue Squad or Rescue Squad Officer - These plates are available to any Tennessee resident who is a member of the Tennessee Association of Rescue Squads and who meet the requirements of volunteer life saving or first aid crews. In Shelby County, applicants must be a member of an emergency services squad other than the Tennessee Association of Rescue Squads. Eligibility lists will be submitted to County Clerks by the captain of the local Tennessee Association of Rescue Squads.

Rescue Squad Officer The annual fee is $21.50 and personalized plates are not available.

 

 

For office use only: Class Code - 3360; officials - 3359; 5570 (motorcycle)


Tennessee Police Benevolent Association

Tennessee Police Benevolent Association - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are certified members of the Tennessee Police Benevolent Association. Applications should be accepted from full-time paid or retired law enforcement officers who are members of the Police Benevolent Association. Holders of the plate shall turn them in to the county clerk of their residence within 30 days of terminating their membership.

The annual fee is $56.50. Plates can be personalized with 5 characters available.

For office use only: Class Code - 3335; if personalized - 2310


Tennessee State Guard

Tennessee State Guard - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are certified as a member in good standing of the Tennessee State Guard. The annual fee is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75.  This plate expires September 30 and it can not be personalized.

The annual fee for registration for retired members is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. This plate expires September 30 and it can not be personalized.   

County clerks will receive an eligibility list from the Vehicle Services Division as provided by the Adjutant General of the Tennessee State Guard. This list will also include all retired members who wish to have a plate and they will be appropriately designated on such list. Any guard member not shown on this listing must provide documentation to the county clerk demonstrating their proof of eligibility for these plates. This documentation must identify the eligible member by name, social security number, and indicate they are in good standing with the unit.

Tennessee State Guard officer's plates are produced annually. These plates are only issued in September since there is no statutory provision to prorate the registration fee.

If a member is discharged from the guard prior to the expiration of the registration under which it was issued, the owner or lessee to whom a license plate has been issued pursuant to this section (Tenn. Code Ann. Section 55-4-270) shall surrender the plate to the county clerk of the county of the applicant’s residence within thirty (30) days of the terminating of the membership.

For office use only: Class Code - 3993 (TN State Guard Enlisted, expires in September); 3995 (TN State Guard Officer, expires in September); 3996 (TN State Guard Retired, expires in September); 5561 (motorcycle, expires in September)


U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary

U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are certified as a member in good standing of the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary. The application for the plates shall be accompanied by a written statement from the commanding officer of the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary certifying the applicant to be a member in good standing of the organization.

The annual fee for this plate is $21.50 (with an ititial fee of $25.75) and personalized plates are not available.

For office use only: Class Code - 3985