Skip to Content

Frequently Asked Questions

Question 10

Where can I obtain a copy of an crash report?

Electronic Crash Reports

Citizens may also retrieve crash reports online through the secure website www.tnbuycrash.com 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Crashes investigated by the Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP), as well as local police and sheriff departments, should be available online within seven days of the crash. The cost of an online collision report is $10.

Answer: There are a few factors that must be considered before requesting a crash, or accident report. Most importantly, was the crash investigated by the Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP), or another agency (county sheriff's office or city police department)?

If the crash was investigated by the Tennessee Highway Patrol:

  • Any driver/owner/passenger or their agent or legal representative may purchase a copy of the crash report for a fee of $4.00. The reports are available approximately 7 days after the date of the crash at the THP District Office. This can be purchased through the mail, or by visiting their office in person. Access a complete listing of THP District Office locations.
  • After 30 days have passed from the date of the crash, the report may also be purchased from the Department of Safety for a fee of $4.00.

If the crash was investigated by any law enforcement agency other than the THP:

  • You should contact that agency to purchase a copy of the report from their office.
  • After 60 days have passed from the date of the crash, the report may also be purchased from the Department of Safety for a fee of $4.00

When purchasing a crash report, you should provide the following information:

  • Date of crash
  • County in which crash occurred
  • Name(s) of driver(s) involved

A cashier's check, money order, or personal/business check in the amount of $4.00 must accompany your request. If sending by mail, be sure and include the address to which you would like the crash report mailed.

Review the list below to see where to send your request, based on the county in which the crash occurred, if investigated by THP.










 

For more general driver license information (general info, office locations, online services etc.) visit Driver Services.

Back to Driver Services FAQs