Administrative Hearings | Business Services | Charitable Fundraising | Elections | Library & Archives | Publications

Online Services

UCC Online Services Link

 

Business Services Searches

The Office of Small Business Advocate

The Office of Small Business Advocate serves as a point of contact to state government for owners of businesses with fifty (50) or fewer employees. The Office of Small Business Advocate is located within the Comptroller of the Treasury.

Go to Web Site

Motor Vehicle Temporary Liens FAQs

Where do I find the application to file a Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien?
Click here for the application for temporary lien.

How do I record a Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien?
A Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien may be obtained by filing the following information with the Division of Business Services:

  1. A completed Application for Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien, form SS-4258;
  2. Payment of the ten dollar ($10) filing fee
  3. Once the application has been processed an acknowledgment will be provided for each properly filed motor vehicle temporary lien

Where do I mail my Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien application?
Tennessee Secretary of State
Business Services Division
MVTL Section
6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue
Nashville, TN 37243

Where do I find the law for the Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien program?
The law relating to the Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien program is found in the Tennessee Code at §55-3-126.  You can access the Tennessee Code at: TN Code Unannotated (Michie/LexisNexis)

Can I search the Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien database?
Click here for the Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien database.

When does a Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien terminate?
A temporary lien properly filed with the Division of Business Services automatically terminates after 180 days or upon being otherwise perfected, whichever occurs first. After 270 days, the temporary lien documents are purged from the filing system and destroyed.

Where can I find permanent Certificate of Title and Other Motor Vehicle Lien information?
Permanent Certificate of Title and other Motor Vehicle Lien information can be found at the Tennessee Department of Revenue.

Where can I find License Plate information?
License Plate information can be found at the Tennessee Department of Revenue.

Where can I find Driver’s License information?
Driver’s License information can be found at the Tennessee Department of Safety.