Skip to Content

Eligible Hospitals: Stage 2 Meaningful Use Overview

Stage 2 Meaningful Use "supports the aims and priorities of the National Quality Strategy. Specifically, Stage 2 meaningful use criteria…encourage[s] the use of health IT for continuous quality improvement at the point of care and the exchange of information in the most structured format possible."

The aims of the National Quality Strategy:

  • Better Care
  • Healthy People/Healthy Communities
  • Affordable Care

To achieve Stage 2 Meaningful Use, eligible hospitals (EHs) must successfully attest to meaningful use measures that progress from Stage 1 Meaningful Use. 

EHs are required to achieve Stage 2 Meaningful Use for at least two years after completing Stage 1 for two years. After completing Stage 1 Meaningful Use for 90 days and then 365 days, EHs will pursue Stage 2 Meaningful Use. If pursuing it during fiscal year 2014, the reporting period is 90 days.  The Stage 2 reporting period is a full calendar year in every other year but 2014. The shorter 90 day requirement, applicable to every provider attesting to meaningful use in 2014, allows time to upgrade to the EHR technology certified using the 2014 edition of certification criteria.

As with Stage 1, familiarity with the meaningful use criteria is fundamental to successful attestation as achieving the objectives requires prudent planning. The criteria for Stage 2 Meaningful Use retain the triad of core measures, menu measures, and clinical quality measures, although several Stage 1 objectives and measures transitioned from the menu set to the core set, and the approach to clinical quality measures has changed. This Stage 2 meaningful use core and menu objective table of contents is an excellent overview of the measures. Below are links to individual webpages for the measures, which will continue to be populated with practical information on each measure as Stage 2 approaches.

EHs should compare Stage 1 to Stage 2 as part of the preparation for this progression, noting that Stage 2 also introduces new elements to meaningful use in addition to modifying the Stage 1 criteria. Learn more about the similarities and differences between Stage 1 and Stage 2 in the link above.

EHs must attest to each of the 16 core measures, though exclusions can be claimed on certain measures. Learn more about each of the measures by visiting the core measures pages in the link above.

EHs must meet three of the six menu measures. Learn more about each of the measures by visiting the menu measures pages in the link above.

EHs must attest to 16 CQMs from at least three National Quality Strategy domains. Learn more about each of the measures by visiting the NQF website via the links above.