Skip to Main Content

State Holidays

About State Office Holiday Hours

When a holiday falls on Saturday, the Friday before the holiday is substituted. When the holiday falls on Sunday, the Monday following the holiday is substituted. 


Tennessee State Government Holiday Office Closures

New Year's Day

Monday, Dec. 31, 2018 and Tuesday, January 1, 2019

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

January 21, 2019
Third Monday in January
Also called "Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr."

Presidents Day 

Monday, February 18, 2019
Third Monday in February
Also called "Washington's Birthday"

Good Friday

Friday,  April 19, 2019
Friday before Easter

Memorial Day

Monday, May 27, 2019
Last Monday in May

Independence Day

Thursday, July 4, 2019

Labor Day

Monday, September 2, 2019
First Monday in September

Veterans Day

Monday, November 11, 2019

Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 28 and Friday, November 29, 2019*
Fourth Thursday in November

Christmas Day

Tuesday, December 24 and Wednesday, December 25, 2019**

New Years Eve

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

*Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 4-4-105(a)(3), the Governor has designated that the Friday after Thanksgiving shall be substituted for the Columbus Day holiday.

**The Governor has approved this additional day as a State office closures in addition to the official holidays.