Tobacco Enforcement: Halting Tobacco Sales to Minors
The Tennessee Department of Agriculture (TDA) has implemented new state law that mirrors federal tobacco sales minimum age requirements. Public Chapter No. 732 raises the state tobacco sale minimum age required from 18 to 21. The law has been effective since January 1, 2021.
Tennessee’s Youth Access to Tobacco Program administers the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco and Vapor Products Act for the purpose of reducing access by minors to tobacco products through various prohibitions and restrictions on the sale, distribution, and receipt of such products. This includes conducting random, unannounced inspections of locations where tobacco products are sold or distributed.
Anyone appearing to be under 30 years of age must present a valid photo ID and be at least 21 years of age to purchase tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and vapor products.
Tobacco Enforcement FAQ
A person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco, smoking hemp, or vapor products shall demand proof of age from a prospective purchaser or recipient if an ordinary person would conclude on the basis of appearance that the prospective purchaser or recipient may be under thirty (30) years of age.
Twenty-one (21) years of age.
You may pay online via our portal: TDA State Portal - Live - Pay invoice (healthspace.com) ;
or Via mail: Check or Money Order. Please write your Invoice Number on the check or money order
"Tennessee Department of Agriculture"
Tennessee Department of Agriculture
PO BOX 111359
Nashville, TN 37222-1359
Clerks under the age of 21 are allowed to sell tobacco products provided the person is:
(1) Working in the course of employment; provided, and
(2) That the person is under the supervision of another employee who is at least twenty-one (21) years of age.
Please see the required sign: Tobacco Sign Requirement 08122020.pdf (tn.gov)
This sign is required post conspicuously and keep so posted at the place of business a sign, no smaller than ninety-three and one-half (93 ½) square inches, to ensure that it is likely to be read at each point of sale.
If you would like a sign/signs mailed to you please email your request to: Tobacco.SalesToYouth@tn.gov
No, currently the state of Tennessee does not require or offer a license/permit in order to sell tobacco products. We encourage you as a business owner to contact the FDA, and Tennessee Department of Revenue to make sure you are following their requirements.
Tennessee Department of Agriculture does not regulate the minimum price of each tobacco product. Please contact the TN Department of Revenue.
All smoking paraphernalia shall be maintained behind the counter of a retail establishment in an area inaccessible to a customer or in a locked display case that makes the products unavailable to a customer without the assistance of an employee.
Tennessee Department of Agriculture does not regulate the manufacturing of tobacco product. Please contact the FDA, Tennessee Department of Revenue for further guidance.