Skip to Main Content

Excellence in Community Risk Reduction Award

*Congratulations to our 2017 Excellence in Community Risk Reduction Winners!*

Don Friddle

1st Place: Don Friddle, Madison County Fire Department

Elizabeth Bednarcik

2nd Place: Elizabeth Bednarcik, Gallatin Fire Department

Abbie Boeing

3rd Place: Abbie Boeing, Pleasant View Volunteer Fire Department

We would like to thank all of this year's applicants for their hard work and dedication to making Tennessee safer. We are so proud to be  a part of an amazing group of people!

The Excellence in Community Risk Reduction Award recognizes an individual that has exemplified outstanding dedication to community risk reduction. The recipient is an innovator and leader within their department, their community, or the State of Tennessee. They are exceptionally committed to the application of fire prevention practices, adoption and implementation of codes, integration of risk assessment and mitigation, and the embodiment exudes leadership skills.

Eligibility: Any individual working within the State of Tennessee engaged in Community Risk Reduction and Public Fire & Life Safety Education is eligible to receive this award.

Dates: Applications for this year can be submitted through July 31st, 2017.

How to apply: Download and complete this application packet. When complete, email completed packet to Baylie Scott (

Additional info:

  • Applications are submitted in case-study format. You will be asked to detail your CRR implementation plan in detail, including any statistical data and results.
  • Vision 20/20's Community Risk Assessment Guide may be a useful tool for applicants.
  • Applications will be judged by an independent panel of subject matter experts with no affiliation with the Tennessee State Fire Marshal's Office.
  • Click here to view the grading rubric used to judge applications for this award.