Over 100 New Officers Set to Graduate from TLETA on Sept. 27

Officers Will Serve Tennessee Communities, State Agencies Following Graduation
Monday, September 23, 2019 | 11:49am

NASHVILLE – Over 100 newly certified law enforcement officers are slated to graduate from the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy (TLETA) on Friday, Sept. 27, 2019. The graduation ceremony for TLETA Basic Law Enforcement School Class 1869 will be held at 11 a.m. (CT) at the Hermitage Hills Baptist Church (3475 Lebanon Pike) in Hermitage.

“The cadets of Class 1869 have demonstrated they have the commitment it takes to serve their fellow Tennesseans,” said TLETA Director Brian Grisham. “In addition to completing their TLETA training, they donated 82 units of blood during a blood drive with the American Red Cross that have the potential for saving up to 246 lives. I commend Class 1869 for their dedication and wish them the best as they return to their communities and serve the Volunteer State.”

Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority Director of Public Safety David Griswold will be the graduation’s featured speaker. 

TLETA’s Basic Police School course provides technical and tactical expertise in addition to the ethical and professional standards needed to be a successful law enforcement officer. The newly certified officers who will graduate Friday will join thousands of law enforcement officers who have graduated from TLETA during its more than 50-year history.

Graduates of Class 1869 will serve the following police departments (PD), sheriffs’ offices (SO), and other agencies:

Bartlett (PD), Bedford County (SO), Benton County (SO), Brentwood (PD), Centerville (PD), Clarksville (PD), Coffee County (SO), Collierville (PD), Columbia (PD), Cookeville (PD), Decherd (PD), Dickson County (SO), Dickson (PD), Dyersburg (PD), Fentress County (SO), Gallatin (PD), Germantown (PD), Giles County (SO), Greenfield (PD), Hardeman County (SO), Hendersonville (PD), Humboldt (PD), Jackson (PD), Lake County (SO), La Vergne (PD), Lawrence County (SO), Lebanon (PD), Madison County (SO) Martin (PD), Millersville (PD), Mount Juliet (PD), Murfreesboro (PD), Nashville International Airport (PD), Putnam County (SO), Ripley (PD), Robertson County (SO), Selmer (PD), Shelbyville (PD), Signal Mountain (PD), Smith County (SO), Smyrna (PD), Springfield (PD), Sumner County (SO), Sweetwater (PD), Tennessee Bureau of Investigations, the University of Tennessee at Martin (PD), Van Buren Co. (SO), Warren County (SO), Weakley County (SO), White Co. (SO), and Williamson County (SO).

The next Basic Police School class begins September 29, 2019.