Skip to Main Content

Commission Members

Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated Section 38-8-102 (b)(1):

The Commission shall consist of one (1) police officer below the rank of assistant chief, or equivalent rank:
Captain Rita B. Baker

Metro Nashville Police Department


The State Attorney General and Reporter:
Senior Counsel Brent Cherry Attorney General’s Office 1/15/2015-1/14/2019
Two (2) sheriffs and two (2) municipal chiefs of police who shall be appointed by the governor and serve at his pleasure:
Sheriff Ric Wilson Wayne County Sheriff’s Office 1/15/2015-1/14/2019
Sheriff Jeff Long Williamson County Sheriff’s Office 1/15/2015-1/14/2019
Chief Glenn Chrisman Murfreesboro Police Department 1/15/2015-1/14/2019
Chief Kim Wallace Dover Police Department 1/15/2015-1/14/2019
One (1) non-supervisory police officer:  
William A. Forrester Memphis Police Department 12/14/2016-1/13/2019
One (1) member of the senate and one (1) member of the House of Representatives who shall be appointed by the respective speakers and who shall be non-voting members of the Commission to serve for terms of two (2) years:
VACANT Senator  
Bud Hulsey Representative 5/3/2017-11/6/2018
Two (2) citizens who are not connected with law enforcement, one (1) of whom shall be appointed by a resolution of the house of representatives, and one (1) of whom shall be appointed by resolution of the senate to serve for terms of two (2) years:
Lowell Russell Senate Appointee 12/12/2018-2/12/2020
VACANT House of Representative Appointee  
And three (3) additional members to be appointed by the governor:  
Mike Hannon Newport, TN 8/4/2015-1/19/2019
Carl Jenkins Powell, TN 8/4/2015-1/19/2019
Pat Swain Oakland, TN  3-29-2018-1/19/2019
(a) The Director of the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy shall serve as the Executive Secretary of the Commission:
Brian Grisham Executive Secretary  
(b) Staff for the Commission shall be provided through the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy:
Ben Wrather Assistant Director  
Dexter Mines LE Training Instructor/Investigator  
Eugene Fitzhugh LE Training Instructor/Investigator  
Shana Roberts LE Training Instructor/Investigator  
Dean Lewis Administrative Services Assistant III  
Janine Breeden Administrative Services Assistant II  
Carolyn McNeill Administrative Secretary