Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Names 2017-18 Principal, District Supervisor of the Year

Monday, October 16, 2017 | 08:00pm

NASHVILLE—A Hamilton County high school principal and a Sevier County supervisor have earned top honors for their work in Tennessee education.

Robin Copp, principal of Ooltewah High School in the Hamilton County Department of Education, was named Tennessee's 2017-18 Principal of the Year. Though this is her second year at Ooltewah High School, Copp has served in school administration for 12 years. No matter the grade level, she believes in creating student-centered schools, which are first and foremost focused on teaching and learning. To support this model, Copp has instituted a professional learning framework to support the educators at her school and further develop them as teacher leaders.

Dr. Stacia Lewis, supervisor of federal programs and elementary education in Sevier County Schools, was named Tennessee's 2017-18 Supervisor of the Year. Lewis is in her 25th year serving in education, over half of which has been spent in a role as supervisor. Under Lewis' leadership, her district has implemented the Model Classroom Project, which is an early literacy initiative to support students who struggle to read while providing professional development to equip teachers to meet student needs.

Both awards were announced this evening at an honorary banquet during the department's LEAD conference, a statewide convening for Tennessee's leaders in districts, schools, and classrooms.

"Leaders set the tone for their school and district, and we are fortunate to have these accomplished educators serving the districts and students in our state. It is an honor to recognize their service," Tennessee Commissioner of Education Candice McQueen said. "These two leaders prove that strong vision and high expectations are key to providing a world-class education for our students."

The annual Principal of the Year and Supervisor of the Year awards recognize administrators who have helped provide educational opportunities for Tennessee students through their leadership, programs, and vision. Copp and Lewis were among nine principals and nine district supervisors, respectively, selected as regional finalists after being nominated by their peers for the title.

The winners for the three Tennessee grand divisions were also recognized today.

Copp was named the Tennessee Principal of the Year and East Grand Division winner. John Bush, principal of Marshall County High School in Marshall County Schools, was named the winner for the Middle Grand Division. Dr. Stephanie Coffman, principal of South Haven Elementary School in Henderson County School District, was named the winner for the West Grand Division.

Dr. Lewis was named the Tennessee Supervisor of the Year and East Grand Division winner. Renee Pryor, supervisor in Lincoln County Schools, was named the winner for the Middle Grand Division. Kristy Ford, supervisor for Bartlett City Schools, was named the winner for the West Grand Division.

For questions about the Principal or Supervisor of the Year program in Tennessee, please contact Paul Fleming, assistant commissioner of teachers and leaders, at For media inquiries, please contact Sara Gast, director of communications, at or call (615) 532-6260.