Skip to Main Content

Principal Study Council

The purpose of the Principals Study Council is to promote the continuous improvement of public education in Tennessee by communicating to the State Board of Education and/or the department suggestions for improving education, including task force reports, position papers, and recommendations. Providing in-service education opportunities that are designed to develop the leadership skills of principals is key.


Membership in the Principal Study Council is open to every public school principal, assistant principal and administrator in a similar position.


Download the constitution

In order to provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in its activities, to keep the council responsive to the needs of its members, and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the department and the principals of the state, the Principal Study Council is organized into Area Study Councils for the purpose of disseminating and gathering information.

There are eighteen (18) Area Study Councils presently functioning across the state. Areas are identified in the following map (click to enlarge).

Principal Study Councils by Area and County -  Area 1: Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi, Carter, Johnson. Area 2: Green, Cocke, Hawkins, Hancock, Hamblen. Area 3: Scott, Morgan, Roane, Loudon, Monroe, Campbell. Area 4: Blount, Union, Claiborne, Anderson, Jefferson, Grainger, Sevier. Area 5: Hamilton. Area 6: Polk, McMinn, Meigs, Rhea, Bradey. Area 7: Macon, Trousdale, Clay, Pickett, Fentress, Overton, Jackson, Smith, Putnam, Cumberland, Bledsoe, White, Van Buren, Grundy, Sequatchie, Warren, Cannon, DeKalb, Pickett. Area 8: Wilson, Sumner. Area 9: Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Lincoln, Moore. Area 10: Hickman, Perry, Lewis, Maury, Marshall, Giles, Lawrence, Wayne. Area 11: Stewart, Houston, Dickson, Cheatham, Montgomery, Robertson, Humphries. Area 12: Davidson, Williamson, Rutherford. Area 13: Henry, Weakley, Carroll, Benton. Area 14: Obion, Lake, Dyer, Crockett, Gibson. Area 15: Haywood, Madison, Chester, Hardeman, McNairy, Harden, Decatur, Henderson. Area 16: Fayette. Area 17: Shelby County Schools. Area 18: Shelby Municipal Districts.
PSC Area Representative School District Contact Info
Area 1 Mike Edmonds Boones Creek Middle Washington Co. (423) 283-3520
Area 2 Joseph Ely Lincoln Heights Hamblen Co. (423) 585-3725
Area 3 Nancy Lay Elk Valley Elementary Campbell Co.
Area 4 Lori Collins South Clinton Elementary Clinton City (865) 457-2684
Area 5        
Area 6        
Area 7 Grant Swallows White County High White Co.
Area 8 Lance Taylor Guild Elementary Sumner Co. (615) 452-5583
Area 9 Kim Aaron Coffee County Middle Coffee Co. (931) 247-5728
Area 10 Kevin Eady Mt. Pleasant Middle Maury Co. (931) 379-1100
Area 11 Janet Staggs East Montgomery Clarksville-Montgomery (931) 385-2868
Area 12        
Area 13 Donald Ray High Sharon School Weakley Co. (731) 456-2672
Area 14 Charlotte Shivley East Elementary Humboldt City (731) 784-4171
Area 15        
Area 16 Varissa Richardson Munford Elementary Tipton Co. (901) 840-9705
Area 17 Tricia Marshall Tara Oaks Elementary Collierville City (901) 853-3337
Area 18 Stephanie Beach Cordova Middle Shelby Co.
  Michelle Lewis
Position Board Member School District Phone Email
Chair Charlotte Shivley East Elementary Humboldt City 731-784-4171
Vice-Chair Donna Singley Jellico High School Campbell  County (423) 784-9455
Secretary Varissa Richardson Munford Elementary Tipton County 901-840-9705
Past Chair Karen King West Side Elementary Cannon County 615-904-5570
East Region Mike Edmonds Boones Creek Middle Washington County 423-283-3520
Middle Region Monti Hillis BR Memorial  Elementary Warren County 931-808-4899
West Region Varissa Richardson Munford Elementary Tipton County 901-840-9705
Chair Emeritus Patton Gamble West View Elementary Washington County 423-753-1175
TDOE Liaison Martha Moore   TDOE 615-856-9306