Skip to Main Content

Principal Study Council

The purpose of the Principals Study Council is to promote the continuous improvement of public education in Tennessee by communicating to the State Board of Education and/or the department suggestions for improving education, including task force reports, position papers, and recommendations. Providing in-service education opportunities that are designed to develop the leadership skills of principals is key.

Membership in the Principal Study Council is open to every public school principal, assistant principal and administrator in a similar position.

We strive to be a collaborative network of school leaders working with the department to improve public education in Tennessee.

Our mission is to serve as an important partnership among leaders, districts, and the department to:

  • Act as mutual voice for both leaders across our state and the department
  • Offer recognition and celebration of leadership
  • Support continuous learning
  • Encourage collaboration and networking for leaders within their districts
  • Enable collaboration and networking for leaders within the CORE regions
  • Empower leaders to effectively support teachers and students
  • Provide differentiated learning and capacity building through high-quality professional learning

Download the constitution

In order to provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in its activities, to keep the council responsive to the needs of its members, and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the department and the principals of the state, the Principal Study Council is organized into Area Study Councils for the purpose of disseminating and gathering information.

There are eighteen (18) Area Study Councils presently functioning across the state. Areas are identified in the following map (click to enlarge).

Principal Study Councils by Area and County -  Area 1: Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi, Carter, Johnson. Area 2: Green, Cocke, Hawkins, Hancock, Hamblen. Area 3: Scott, Morgan, Roane, Loudon, Monroe, Campbell. Area 4: Blount, Union, Claiborne, Anderson, Jefferson, Grainger, Sevier. Area 5: Hamilton. Area 6: Polk, McMinn, Meigs, Rhea, Bradey. Area 7: Macon, Trousdale, Clay, Pickett, Fentress, Overton, Jackson, Smith, Putnam, Cumberland, Bledsoe, White, Van Buren, Grundy, Sequatchie, Warren, Cannon, DeKalb, Pickett. Area 8: Wilson, Sumner. Area 9: Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Lincoln, Moore. Area 10: Hickman, Perry, Lewis, Maury, Marshall, Giles, Lawrence, Wayne. Area 11: Stewart, Houston, Dickson, Cheatham, Montgomery, Robertson, Humphries. Area 12: Davidson, Williamson, Rutherford. Area 13: Henry, Weakley, Carroll, Benton. Area 14: Obion, Lake, Dyer, Crockett, Gibson. Area 15: Haywood, Madison, Chester, Hardeman, McNairy, Harden, Decatur, Henderson. Area 16: Fayette. Area 17: Shelby County Schools. Area 18: Shelby Municipal Districts.
PSC Area Representative School District Phone Number Email
Area 1 Chris Bogart Unicoi County High School Unicoi (423) 743-1632 bogartc@unicoischools.com
Area 2 Joseph Ely Lincoln Heights Hamblen (423) 273-7084 elyj@hcboe.net
Area 3 Nancy Lay Elk Valley Elementary Campbell (865) 776-9940 nancy.lay@ccpstn.net
Area 4 Jenna Sharp Clinton Elementary Clinton City (865) 680-8186 sharpj@clintonschools.org
Area 5 Robin Copp Ooltewah High School Hamilton (423) 238-5221 Copp_robin@hcde.org
Area 6 Kimberly Shurett Jasper Elementary School Marion (423) 942-2110 kshurett@mctns.net
Area 7 Melissa Palk Northeast Elementary School Putnam (931) 526-2978 mpalk@pcsstn.com
Area 8 Lance Taylor Guild Elementary Sumner (615) 452-0737 lance.taylor@sumnerschools.org
Area 9 Kim Aaron Coffee County Middle Coffee (931) 247-5728 aaronk@k12coffee.net
Area 10 Kevin Eady E.A. Cox Middle Maury (931) 379-1100 eadyk1@mauryk12.org
Area 11 Amber Raymer West Cheatham  Elementary Cheatham (615) 792-5167 Amber.Raymer@ccstn.org
Area 12 Combined with 11        
Area 13 Jonathan Kee Huntingdon High School Huntingdon SSD (731) 986-8223 jkee@huntingdonschools.net
Area 14 Linda DeBerry Dyersburg Primary School Dyersburg City (731) 286-3615 ldeberry@dyersburgcityschools.org
Area 15 Beth Deere Lexington Middle School Lexington City (731) 968-8457 deereb@caywood.org
Area 16 Open        
Area 17 Stephanie Beach Cordova Middle Shelby (901) 416-2189 beachsh@scsk12.org
Area 18 Selina Sparkman Millington Middle School Shelby (901) 873-8130 ssparkman@millingtonschools.org
Position Board Member School District Phone Email
Chair Charlotte Shivley East Elementary Humboldt City 731-784-4171 charlotte.shivley@hcsvikings.org
Vice-Chair Donna Singley Jellico High School Campbell  County (423) 784-9455 donna.singley@ccpstn.net
Secretary Varissa Richardson Munford Elementary Tipton County 901-840-9705 vrichardson@tipton-county.com
Past Chair Karen King West Side Elementary Cannon County 615-904-5570 Karen.King@ccstn.net
East Region Mike Edmonds Boones Creek Middle Washington County 423-283-3520 edmondsm@wcde.org
Middle Region Monti Hillis BR Memorial  Elementary Warren County 931-808-4899 montihillis@warrenschools.com
West Region Varissa Richardson Munford Elementary Tipton County 901-840-9705 vrichardson@tipton-county.com
Chair Emeritus Patton Gamble West View Elementary Washington County 423-753-1175 gamblep@wcde.org
TDOE Liaison Martha Moore   TDOE 615-856-9306 Martha.Moore@tn.gov 

Who is eligible for membership?

Membership is open to every public school principal and assistant principal in Tennessee at no cost.

What areas are represented?

There are 18 areas equally represented through the state organized through the eight CORE regions.

How do I know what area I’m in and where my council meets?

Our map, list of area chairpersons, and bylaws are on the study council website.

When do study councils meet?

We meet annually at LEAD conference with other area meetings scheduled in cooperation with the CORE offices throughout the year.

What is the role of the department in the study councils?

The department provides a liaison to facilitate both CORE and state meetings, access to differentiated professional learning opportunities/content, and management for the process of recognition and celebration of principals.