Superintendent Study Council

Content for the 2019 Superintendent Study Council Conference is available here.


The purpose of the Superintendent Study Council is to:

  • Provide an opportunity for the continuous study of problems of the profession;
  • Jointly evaluate, with the Tennessee Department of Education, ongoing instructional programs and recommend changes designed to improve those programs;


Membership in the Supervisor Study Council is open to all superintendents and directors of Tennessee schools.


In order to provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in the activities of the study council and to keep responsive to the needs of its members and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the department and the supervisors of the state, the Superintendent Study Council is organized into Area Study Councils for meeting purposes.

For further information, contact your Area liaison or Don Boyd, Strategic Planning Director, Centers of Regional Excellence.

Reporting attendance of State Alternative Credit is the sole responsibility of the Event Coordinator.

Study Council Executive Committee

David Snowden, Chair
Franklin Special
Mid Cumberland

Steve Starnes, Vice Chair
Greeneville City
First Tennessee

Steve Wilkinson, Past Chair
Henderson County

Tony  Boles
Macon County
Upper Cumberland

Mike Frazier
Etowah City

Kelly Johnson
Clinton City
East Tennessee

Jason Manuel
Germantown Municipal

Kris McAskill
Houston County
Mid Cumberland

Eddie Pruett
Gibson County Special 

Jacob Sorrells
Marshall County
South Central

Ex Officio

Penny Schwinn
Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Education

Dale Lynch
TOSS Executive Director

Valerie Rutledge
Higher Education Advisor

Related Links

TOSS - Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents
TSBA - Tennessee School Boards Association