Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Historical Commission

Meeting Details: Revised 3/14/18

No meeting scheduled.

The Tennessee Historical Commission met on February 16, 2018, at 10:00 am EST / 9:00 am CST.

The meeting was held in the Multimedia Room on the 3rd Floor of the William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, Nashville, Tennessee, 37243.

Link to Agenda

Link to recording of meeting

On the agenda is the final hearing regarding a petition for waiver filed by Middle Tennessee State University and the Tennessee Board of Regents to change the name of a building located on the Middle Tennessee State University campus from Forrest Hall to Army ROTC Building. The hearing will be in the presence of Administrative Law Judge Thomas G. Stovall and the Tennessee Historical Commission.

Written notices and documents related to the petition for waiver should be submitted to:

Secretary of State
Administrative Procedures Division
8th Floor
William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue
Nashville, Tennessee 37243

All written notices and documents related to the petition for waiver should reference the case number: 04.47-150473A.

Also, the Tennessee Historical Commission will determine whether to convene a contested case hearing pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-223 on a petition for declaratory order filed January 10, 2018, by the Descendants of Nathan Bedford Forrest and Sons of Confederate Veterans Nathan Bedford Forrest Camp # 215. The petition for declaratory order requests the Tennessee Historical Commission issue an order relative to various questions regarding the sale of property and removal of statues and a bust in Memphis, Tennessee. The statues were representations of Nathan Bedford Forrest and Jefferson Davis. The bust was a representation of J. Harvey Mathes.

The meeting will be video conferenced to the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation Environmental Field Offices located in Memphis, Jackson, Columbia, Nashville, Cookeville, Chattanooga, Knoxville, and Johnson City.

Link to Field Offices

Link to the Notice of Hearing for the Petition for Waiver

Link to the Petition for Declaratory Order


The Tennessee Historical Commission met on January 19, 2018, at 10:00 am EST / 9:00 am CST, to determine whether to review the Initial Order issued by Judge Hilliard, APD, dismissing the Petition for Declaratory Order submitted by the City of Memphis and Memphis City Council regarding application of the Tennessee Heritage Protection Act of 2013 to the equestrian statue of Nathan Bedford Forrest located in Memphis. The Commission determined no to review the initial order. The order became final January 23, 2018.



Board Characteristics

Twenty-nine members: 24 appointed by the Governor for terms of five years and 5 ex officio members.  

Members include

  • Governor of Tennessee
  • State Historian
  • State Archaeologist
  • Commissioner of Environment and Conservation
  • State Librarian and Archivist
  • 24 members who shall be equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state

Commissioned under T.C.A. 4-11-102.

The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2019 and the one-year wind-down period begins.


Term Expires


Ernie Bacon 10-15-2020 Middle Tennessee
David "Ray" Smith 10-31-2021 East Tennessee
Dr. Douglas Cupples  06-30-2021 West Tennessee
Elizabeth A. Campbell 06-30-2022 Middle Tennessee
Allen F. Carter, Vice-Chair 09-30-2021 East Tennessee
Dr.  Kent Dollar 09-30-2020 Middle Tennessee
Sam D. Elliott 05-31-2020 East Tennessee
Governor Ex Officio Governor of Tennessee
Jeremy S. Harrell 09-30-2020 Middle Tennessee
Yolanda (Loni) Harris 09-30-2019 West Tennessee
Toye Heape 09-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Don Roe 09-30-2022 West Tennessee
Alpha B. (Tiny) Jones 06-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Bill Landry 06-30-2021 East Tennessee
Lucy W. Lee 11-15-2020 Middle Tennessee
William Lyons 02-28-2021 East Tennessee
Robert Martineau Ex Officio Commissioner TDEC
Linda Moss Mines 11-15-2020 East Tennessee
Dr. Reavis L. Mitchell, Jr., Chairman 06-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Joanne Cullom Moore 09-30-2021 West Tennessee
Mike Moore Ex Officio State Archaeologist
Keith Norman 09-30-2020 West Tennessee
Beverly C. Robertson 09-30-2020 West Tennessee
Chuck Sherrill Ex Officio State Librarian and Archivist
Joe Swann 02-28-2021 East Tennessee
Judge David Tipton 09-30-2018 East Tennessee
Dr. Carroll Van West Ex Officio State Historian
Vacant 09-30-2022 West Tennessee
Derita Coleman Williams, Vice-Chair 06-30-2022 West Tennessee




    Patrick McIntyre

    Executive Director
    Tennessee Historical Commission
    Department of Environment & Conservation



Related Links


Patrick McIntyre

Executive Director
Tennessee Historical Commission
Department of Environment & Conservation