Skip to Main Content

THRC Convenes New Board and Elect Officers

Friday, January 30, 2015 | 12:35pm

TENNESSEE HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION 312 Rosa L Parks Ave, 23rd Floor, Nashville, TN 37243 (615) 741-5825 FAX (615) 253-1886 Join us on Facebook – MEDIA RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Erica Kesse (615) 253-1608 THRC Convenes New Board and Elect Officers

The Tennessee Human Rights Commission (THRC) convened the first Commission Meeting since the Board was restructured from fifteen (15) to nine (9) members. During the Board meeting officers were elected, which includes the Chair, Vice-Chair from each Division, and Secretary. Annazette Houston of Knoxville, Tennessee will serve as Chair of the Board. Houston serves as the Director of the Office of Disability Services at the University of Tennessee, and has over 20 years of higher education experience including a background in Equal Opportunity and Career Services. She serves on the UT Council for Diversity and Interculturalism, the Diversity Committee for the Division of Student Life and Hodges Library. She serves on the Boards for the Beck Cultural Exchange Center and The Big Brothers Big Sisters of East Tennessee. “Being appointed by the Governor to serve on the Tennessee Human Rights Commission was a true honor and I am humbled that my colleagues have elected me as chair. I look forward to working with my fellow commissioner’s, the executive director and staff to safeguard individuals from discrimination,” said Chair Annazette Houston. Rieta Selberg of Memphis, Tennessee will serve as the Vice- Chair of the West Grand Division. Selberg serves as the Chair of the Tennessee Federation of Republican Women Barbara McAndrew Iris Fund. She serves on the Executive Board for Republican Women of Purpose, and is a former Board member of the Memphis and Shelby County Community Services Agency, Shelby County Republican Party, and the Family Safety Center of Memphis and Shelby County, William Martin of Nashville, Tennessee will serve as the Vice-Chair of the Middle Grand Division. Martin is the Chief Executive Director and founder of Cushion Employer Services. He is a member of the Middle TN Global Center of Excellence Committee, the Personnel Committee of Family and Children Services, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Airport Authority and past board member of the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce. Ralph White of Memphis, Tennessee will serve as the Secretary. White is the Pastor of Bloomfield Full Gospel Baptist Church and the founder of Bloomfield Urban Ministries, Inc. He serves on the Board of the Religious Alliance against Pornography, Citizens for Community Values of Memphis, and is a former Board member of the Shelby County Domestic Violence Task Force. Currently, there is a vacancy for the Vice-Chair of the East Grand Division position. The Board includes two additional board members; Chrystal Horne of Chattanooga, Tennessee has served as an Accountant for the Chattanooga Housing Authority since 1993. She serves as a member of Solid Anchor Church. She is a past member of the TN GOP State Executive Committee and as a two term secretary of Hamilton County Republican Party. Julius Sloss of Nashville, TN is currently the Director of Operations for the Juvenile Court Clerk’s Office. He served as the 19th District’s Nashville Metro Councilman; on Governor Don Sundquist’s legislative staff; and as the THRC’s Executive Director from 1997 until 2003. I look forward to working with the Chair and Board of Commissioners to further the mission of THRC,” said Executive Director Beverly Watts. The Commission’s role is to enforce and prohibit discrimination in employment, housing and public accommodation based on race, color, national origin, age, religion, creed, sex, disability and familial status in housing. For more information on the THRC, call 1-800-251-3589 or visit the agency’s website at Inquiries can be made by calling Erica Kesse at 1-800-251-3589 or by email at ####