Skip to Main Content

Human Rights Commission Receives New Commissioner

Monday, August 17, 2015 | 11:14am

Robin Derryberry of Derryberry PR Joins Board of Commissioners

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Human Rights Commission announced this week the appointment of Robin Derryberry to its nine-member Board of Commissioners.​

Derryberry is a seventh generation Tennessean. She earned an undergraduate and Master’s degree from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. 

“We’re pleased to receive such a qualified appointment to our Board of Commissioners,” said Beverly Watts, Executive Director of the THRC. “She has an exceptional service record, which will aid our mission to prevent discrimination through enforcement and education.”

Derryberry practices public, media and government relations in the Scenic City as the owner of Derryberry Public Relations. She was honored as one of Chattanooga’s “Women of Distinction,” and serves as a Member of UTC Chancellor’s Roundtable; and, Executive Committee Member of the Board of The Partnership for Families, Children and Adults.

Appointed by Speaker Beth Harwell (R-Nashville), Derryberry will serve as a representative of East Tennessee on the THRC until her term expires at the end of June, 2017.

“I am excited Robin has agreed to serve on the Tennessee Humans Rights Commission,” said Speaker Harwell. “As a leader in her community, Robin has a proven track record of service and a passion for improving the lives of Tennesseans.”

Commissioners are appointed on a nonpartisan basis and are to be broadly representative of employees, proprietors, trade unions, religions groups, human rights groups and the general public.

The Tennessee Human Rights Commission is an independent state agency responsible for enforcing the state’s anti-discrimination laws, which prohibit discrimination in housing, employment, and public accommodation. The Commission also ensures Tennessee’s compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which prohibits discrimination based on race, color, and national origin by state agencies receiving financial assistance.

Click here to view PDF version.